Pro-39 UHF frequencies error

ChrisJB

Newbie
Joined
Oct 26, 2020
Messages
3
Hello all

First off, I am completely new to scanners. I recently purchased a barely used Pro-39 on eBay. I am mainly interested in military aviation as I live close to Nellis AFB. Lately I have been venturing out to Rachel NV to watch their training. So I decided to pick up a scanner to help me plan and have a better understanding of what's going on. I hear the planes flying over my house, but no idea where they are going to train. As a photographer, Star Wars Canyon is on my bucket list.

So my issue. I found this list of frequencies on the internet for Nellis

The VHF channels, I have no problems plugging them in and listening.

FrequencyAlpha TagDescription
132.55000Tower VHFTower
120.90000Clearance VHFClearance
118.12500Approach VHFApproach
135.10000Departure VHFDeparture

However when I try to program in the UHF channels, I get an error message.

FrequencyAlpha TagDescription
270.10000ATISATIS
327.00000Nellis TowerNellis Tower UHF
289.40000Clearance UHFClearance
291.72500Approach UHFApproach
385.40000Departure UHFDeparture

I didn't think much of it since the VHF channels worked fine. however when I tried to program the frequency for Star Wars Canyon, 315.9, got the error message. I am not sure if I am doing something wrong? if it's the capability limitations of the scanner? etc.

I did also buy a Uniden BC125AT but I am a Mac user and having fun figuring out how to program that, but that's a topic for another day and forum.

Any help would be appreciated.

Christopher
 

ecps92

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
11,863
Location
Taxachusetts
According to the Manual
your radio does not handle the UHF Air Bands
Hello all

First off, I am completely new to scanners. I recently purchased a barely used Pro-39 on eBay. I am mainly interested in military aviation as I live close to Nellis AFB. Lately I have been venturing out to Rachel NV to watch their training. So I decided to pick up a scanner to help me plan and have a better understanding of what's going on. I hear the planes flying over my house, but no idea where they are going to train. As a photographer, Star Wars Canyon is on my bucket list.

So my issue. I found this list of frequencies on the internet for Nellis

The VHF channels, I have no problems plugging them in and listening.

FrequencyAlpha TagDescription
132.55000Tower VHFTower
120.90000Clearance VHFClearance
118.12500Approach VHFApproach
135.10000Departure VHFDeparture

However when I try to program in the UHF channels, I get an error message.

FrequencyAlpha TagDescription
270.10000ATISATIS
327.00000Nellis TowerNellis Tower UHF
289.40000Clearance UHFClearance
291.72500Approach UHFApproach
385.40000Departure UHFDeparture

I didn't think much of it since the VHF channels worked fine. however when I tried to program the frequency for Star Wars Canyon, 315.9, got the error message. I am not sure if I am doing something wrong? if it's the capability limitations of the scanner? etc.

I did also buy a Uniden BC125AT but I am a Mac user and having fun figuring out how to program that, but that's a topic for another day and forum.

Any help would be appreciated.

Christopher
 

jaspence

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,427
Location
Michigan
You need a newer model scanner. The military band is from 225 to 400. The BC125 is one of the most popular analog scanners and covers most of that range plus the VHF air and other commercial bands
 

ChrisJB

Newbie
Joined
Oct 26, 2020
Messages
3
You need a newer model scanner. The military band is from 225 to 400. The BC125 is one of the most popular analog scanners and covers most of that range plus the VHF air and other commercial bands
Okay, so I should be all set. I'll just buy an old used laptop off Facebook marketplace or something, that seems to be the cheapest and easiest option to get something with windows on it. Thank you
 

jaspence

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,427
Location
Michigan
There are many good used laptops online. DO NOT buy anything with 32 or 64 gb of mmc storage, and remember that all versions of Windows no longer have updates and new security support except Windows 10. I just helped a client of mine find a 15 inch refurbished Dell Inspiron with a 60 day warranty and Windows 10 Pro from a well known online retailer for $249. However, I am not sure how that will replace your scanner. A new BC125 can be found on sale under $100, and you will not find much in the way of a laptop for that amount.
 

ecps92

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
11,863
Location
Taxachusetts
He also mentioned his BC125AT, but since he is a MAC user, he was having issues.
Likely that is what he want the PC for...

Hello all

First off, I am completely new to scanners. I recently purchased a barely used Pro-39 on eBay. I am mainly interested in military aviation as I live close to Nellis AFB. Lately I have been venturing out to Rachel NV to watch their training. So I decided to pick up a scanner to help me plan and have a better understanding of what's going on. I hear the planes flying over my house, but no idea where they are going to train. As a photographer, Star Wars Canyon is on my bucket list.

I did also buy a Uniden BC125AT but I am a Mac user and having fun figuring out how to program that, but that's a topic for another day and forum.

Any help would be appreciated.

Christopher
The Pro-39 is not computer programmable. I own one of these, but have not used it in many years.
 

CORN

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 9, 2003
Messages
1,041
Location
OKC
The BC125AT isn’t that hard to program manually either.
 
Top