Pro-528 annoying beeping

Status
Not open for further replies.
I got a Radio Shack Pro-528 Handheld Trunking scanner a while ago. For the first couple of months, I listened to the default programs since I am new to this and was scared to try to program it. After a while of hearing nothing much I decided to give it a try. I got the ScanCatLite and Mister Scanner software and was actuallya ble to get it to program my pro-528 (amazing)! The scanner does indeed scan through all the freqs i programmed it with and now I have lots to listen to! But since I programmed it there is a constant high pitched beep, beep, beep, beep... unless there is audio present and it stops. I thought the batteries may be low, but a new set grounded that theory, plus the low battery indicator was not lit up. Does anyone have any idea why this thing keeps beeping? It is driving me crazy!

HELP!

Yes, when it is scanning it goes beep, beep ,beep..... when there is someone talking it stops. But as soon as they finish (you can still hear the squelch) it starts beeping again, like a couple of seconds befoe it starts scanning again...

GrayJeep

Premium Subscriber
Sounds like you are scanning a EDACS system with the Trunking turned off.

I agree this is likely.

And- programming with Scancat may lead to unexpected results.

Manually check the programming from the front panel of the scanner.

I wouldn't be a bit surprised if you thought the program was going to set it for EDACS but when loaded to the scanner the scanner was still set for MOT.

I worked with Scancat in my radios for awhile and helped report bugs and tested fixes for a few but ultimately got tired of the runaround.

I've been very happy with Don Starr's programs (starrsoft) for my '97, '96 and now '106.
Scancat trying to do all scanners just doesn't work.

fmon

Silent Key Jan. 14, 2012
Sounds like you are scanning a EDACS system with the Trunking turned off.
Yup, Raytown and KCMO are both EDACS