PRO-651 (P25) Doublecheck -- Am I going crazy? - Broken? - Need Antenna?

Status
Not open for further replies.

n8thanael

I'm new to scanning. My little brother is in love with firetrucks, police etc. and has begged our family to get him a scanner, so I've bought this for him and I'm trying to get this thing figured out so he can hear stuff going on.

I've read the "Factory" RadioShack .pdf manual
http://mvc.nataley.com/Radio_Shack_PRO-651.pdf

I've read the "Easier to Read" online manual here:
http://new.marksscanners.com/106_197/106_197.shtm

But I just want to double check with all you pros out there because something is not right and I'm not sure what to do. I don't have another scanner that does work to troubleshoot with.

(Confirmation Please: 1)
I've determined I have a (P25) Motorolla I system here in Coshocton County.
Coshocton County, Ohio (OH) Scanner Frequencies and Radio Frequency Reference

(Confirmation Please: 2)
I've determined all control, active and other trunking frequencies for my county as well as talk-groups
Ohio MARCS-IP: Multi-Agency Radio Communications (P25) Trunking System, Various, Ohio - Scanner Frequencies

---- >> EASY COUNTY DATA REFERENCE <<----
here is an EASY place to see all of this information collected together:
Untitled Document

(Confirmation Please: 3)
PRO-651 Scanner Setup:

I've set my TSYS object to P25 Auto and have the TGRP (TrunkGroup) object setup 3 different ways:
Scan List 1: P25 Auto....All Control, Active & Other Frequencies... Only POLICE Talkgroup ID's
Scan List 2: P25 Auto....All Control, Active & Other Frequencies... Only FIRE Talkgroup ID's
Scan List 3: P25 Auto....All Control, Active & Other Frequencies... Only EMS Talkgroup ID's
++ Multi-site: OFF

Scan List 5: P25 Auto....Only Control & Active Frequencies... Only POLICE Talkgroup ID's
Scan List 6: P25 Auto....Only Control & Active Frequencies... Only FIRE Talkgroup ID's
Scan List 7: P25 Auto....Only Control & Active Frequencies... Only EMS Talkgroup ID's