• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Pro 95 - Power Adapter

Status
Not open for further replies.

Luis_C

Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2006
Messages
77
Location
Hermosillo, Sonora, México
Hey guys, I have the Pro-95, and it needs a Power Adapter rated 9VDC - 300 mA, but I have one here of 6VDC - 800 mA, Radio Shack one, and I saw that it says, 6VDC when running with batteries, so I tried it, and for my surprise it worked, but do you think that it could do some kind of damage in the long run?
 

Chris0381

Member
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
167
What I remeber is it needs the proper voltage not to do damage in the long run and can be slightly higher in amperage but not lower amperage.

Let me refere you to this discussion. I believe a supply can be 1.3 Amps (NOT mA actually full amps) higher but the voltage should be the same. I just bought a pro-2018 without a power supply and am using a 12v 800 mA supply and the scanner calls for 12 V 300mA.



http://sound-on-sound2.infopop.net/2/OpenTopic?a=tpc&s=215094572&f=884099644&m=698108482


Correct me if Im wrong..
 
Last edited:

DaveIN

Founders Curmudgen
Database Admin
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
6,508
Location
West Michigan
True, you can use on with a higher current rate, but the voltage must be the same and be the same polarity at the tip. If the voltage is too high or the incorrect polarity, it could damage the radio, or the power protection circuit diode at the internal power jack inside the radio.
 

Luis_C

Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2006
Messages
77
Location
Hermosillo, Sonora, México
DaveIN said:
True, you can use on with a higher current rate, but the voltage must be the same and be the same polarity at the tip. If the voltage is too high or the incorrect polarity, it could damage the radio, or the power protection circuit diode at the internal power jack inside the radio.

The polarity is alright, higher current rate accepted, but what about less voltage than what is needed?
 

Chris0381

Member
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
167
Dont use a power supply that delivers less voltage than what is called for. It may work but could damage the radio in the long run due to a reason that electrical engineers know better than I but has something to do maybe with stressing the circuitry or maybe making certain components work harder (Im not 100% sure).
 

Luis_C

Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2006
Messages
77
Location
Hermosillo, Sonora, México
Chris0381 said:
Dont use a power supply that delivers less voltage than what is called for. It may work but could damage the radio in the long run due to a reason that electrical engineers know better than I but has something to do maybe with stressing the circuitry or maybe making certain components work harder (Im not 100% sure).
Alright, then I won't and I'll get the necessary adapter.

Thanks :)
 

Chris0381

Member
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
167
Do you have a radioshack that is closing its doors nearby. I just got a 12v 800mA supply for $4 at the RS here in Meriden,CT.
 

Luis_C

Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2006
Messages
77
Location
Hermosillo, Sonora, México
Chris0381 said:
Do you have a radioshack that is closing its doors nearby. I just got a 12v 800mA supply for $4 at the RS here in Meriden,CT.
Of the 2 Radio Shack that I have here none are closing, but I'm going to Tucson in about 1 - 2 weeks, and there's 2 closing, so with some luck I might be able to get it for more or less that. :)

Thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top