• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Pro-96/2096 DSP 1.3 Upgrade Available

Status
Not open for further replies.

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
12,911
Location
Katy, TX
There is now a DSP upgrade (V 1.3) available on the RS Support Page (see the product page) but unlike the last one (Jan, 2004; V 1.2) there is no guide and no explanation as to what it might be fixing or improving.

Anyone out there got any good information on this?
 

jeffrey420

Member
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
357
Yes, it would be nice to know what you are fixing or changing so a decision could be made on whether to upgrade or not.

I hope someone can weigh in here.
 

Bucko

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2005
Messages
1,024
Location
Marietta, Ohio
Yes it would be nice to know but I just went ahead and did the update to my 96 & 2096 with no ill effects.
 

Forts

Mentor
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
5,555
Location
Ontario, Canada
Ditto, I just applied it to my Pro-96. The local P25 trunked system sounds as sharp as ever, and I don't really notice anything else. Maybe it has something to do with the squelch hangtime on P25 conventional channels (where the squelch would hang open for 20 or 30 seconds at the end of a transmission). I don't have any conventional P25 channels near me to test it on, although I can usually pickup boarder patrol out of Michigan at night. I'll check it tonight and see.......
 

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
12,911
Location
Katy, TX
Forts said:
...Maybe it has something to do with the squelch hangtime on P25 conventional channels (where the squelch would hang open for 20 or 30 seconds at the end of a transmission)....
Hmm, maybe someone from the LA area might be able to comment on that.
 

rdale

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Joined
Feb 3, 2001
Messages
11,356
Location
Lansing, MI
It will be of M U C H much value to those in Detroit, Monroe Co MI, Genesee Co MI, and some Arizona areas if that helps...
 

Bucko

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2005
Messages
1,024
Location
Marietta, Ohio
I was just wondering why in the properties on this update it say's copy right 2003-2004 Don Starr, even the file name ends with starrsoft.com?
 

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
12,911
Location
Katy, TX
Bucko said:
I was just wondering why in the properties on this update it say's copy right 2003-2004 Don Starr, even the file name ends with starrsoft.com?
Well, you thought to look, I sure didn't. Did you notice that the new one has the same internal version number as the 1.2 upgrade.

Now where is my old DOS file compare utilty...
 

rdale

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Joined
Feb 3, 2001
Messages
11,356
Location
Lansing, MI
Bucko said:
I was just wondering why in the properties on this update it say's copy right 2003-2004 Don Starr, even the file name ends with starrsoft.com?
As I recall he wrote the updating software, not sure that matters...
 

DaveIN

Founders Curmudgen
Database Admin
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
6,508
Location
West Michigan
rdale said:
It will be of M U C H much value to those in Detroit, Monroe Co MI, Genesee Co MI, and some Arizona areas if that helps...
Why is that Rob?
 

Bucko

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2005
Messages
1,024
Location
Marietta, Ohio
loumaag said:
Well, you thought to look, I sure didn't. Did you notice that the new one has the same internal version number as the 1.2 upgrade.

Now where is my old DOS file compare utilty...
Yep you are right, it says version 0.0.1.2. I didn't notice that the first time I looked.
 

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
12,911
Location
Katy, TX
kc8syo said:
So does any body know the reason for the upgrade?
No fair...
That is my question.
----------------
Okay I did a file compare and quit looking at about 65,000 differences, so I guess the files are different. That doesn't answer the original question though.
 

jeffrey420

Member
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
357
Hmmm, I guess I should do the update and see. I do have conv. P25 station here. It would be nice if they fixed that issue with the squelch. It is sure a pain on a busy night.
 

fmon

Silent Key Jan. 14, 2012
Joined
May 11, 2002
Messages
7,736
Location
Eclipse, Virginia
Whatever it does, all three of mine now have 1.3. Had to use the Dell for the 2096 in the car, but it (Dell) needed the battery topped off anyway and also upgraded Norton files - looks like Windows (XP) is upgrading also. Lou, thanks for the bird dog.
 

jeffrey420

Member
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
357
Upgrade?

I have never done this before (upgrade). The directions in the manual don't exactly go with what I find on the website.

How do you do the upgrade?
 

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
12,911
Location
Katy, TX
jeffrey420 said:
I have never done this before (upgrade). The directions in the manual don't exactly go with what I find on the website.

How do you do the upgrade?
Attached is the instruction sheet that was with the 1.2 upgrade. I guess the process is the same, just the file name should be different.
 
Last edited:

wa8pyr

Technischer Guru
Lead Database Admin
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
4,376
Location
Ohio
rdale said:
It will be of M U C H much value to those in Detroit, Monroe Co MI, Genesee Co MI, and some Arizona areas if that helps...
Delaware County, Ohio is also a CQPSK simulcast system. I just applied the upgrade to my Pro-96 and audio quality does seem to be improved, especially from my location 20 miles away.

Tom WA8PYR
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top