• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Pro 97 Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

PastChief15

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
5
I just bought the pro-97 and I cant get this thing to scan just talkgroups. If i have it on MOT it doesnt pick up the talkgroups. The system is a Motorola and i programmed everything in. Can someone tell me what i might be doing wrong
 

Croaker90

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2008
Messages
173
Location
corpus christi
I had a hard time with my PRO-97, but I finally got a hang of it.

Did you enter the trunking freqs. in LCN order? Keep bank 0 empty (ex chan. 200) start at 201.

Make sure your trunking modes are all set to MOL (ED for me)

I'll search for the link that helped me.

Best of luck.
Croaker.

EDIT: Send a link of the talkgroups you entered.

Here is one link, the other link I can't find right now is the one that did it for me.

http://wiki.radioreference.com/index.php/Programming_Shortcut_Pro-97
 
Last edited:

pogbobo

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2007
Messages
642
Location
VA
PastChief15 said:
I just bought the pro-97 and I cant get this thing to scan just talkgroups. If i have it on MOT it doesnt pick up the talkgroups. The system is a Motorola and i programmed everything in. Can someone tell me what i might be doing wrong

what system are you trying to scan? can you post a link?

also, if it is a motorola system you don't have to worry about LCN order ...

have you checked to make sure that the bank mode is set to MOT, as well as each channel

check out this link for an easier to read manual, its awesome :)
http://myweb.cableone.net/marksscanners/97/97.html
 

gmclam

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
5,356
Location
Fair Oaks, CA
PRO-97 programming

1. Program in at least the 3 control channel frequencies.
2. Program in the base, spacing and offset values.
3. Either set the bank to open or program in the TGs you want to hear (in the same bank).
4. Make sure each frequency and the bank is set to MO.
5. Scanner must be in SCAN mode to trunk track. In MAN you'll only hear pieces of conversations.
 

DickH

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
4,061
Stavro35 said:
Hold on here people. The OP is trying to monitor a trunked system that cannot be monitored by a Radio shack Pro97 . . If this is in fact the link for the system

http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=714

I am sorry to inform you that the Pro97 can't do anything with that system
How did you arrive at that conclusion? Unless the RR Database is wrong, that system is monitorable.
 

pogbobo

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2007
Messages
642
Location
VA
Stavro35 said:
Hold on here people. The OP is trying to monitor a trunked system that cannot be monitored by a Radio shack Pro97 . . If this is in fact the link for the system

http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=714

I am sorry to inform you that the Pro97 can't do anything with that system

I beg to differ ... I have in fact scanned that exact system with my pro97, of course you can't listen to any digital talk groups, but there are none listed quite yet, only in the future will it be an issue ...

but, you do need to put in the base/offset/step info ... that is very important
 

n2mdk

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
2,441
Location
Ames, IA
Since it's a UHF Motorola system you need to set the base, offset and spacing as well. Make sure that is set correctly as well as the bank itself
 

N8IAA

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
6,734
Location
Fortunately, GA
n2mdk said:
Since it's a UHF Motorola system you need to set the base, offset and spacing as well. Make sure that is set correctly as well as the bank itself
Jerri, it is an 80mhz system. He will have to put in the base/step/offset values in.
base 505, step 12.5, offset 380. It can be done manually, or with Win97 software.
Larry
 

pogbobo

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2007
Messages
642
Location
VA
as I said in post #10 .... If indeed he is trying to scan the Ocean County NJ system it can be done with a pro97, but since it is a 500 MHz UHF system you have to enter the other stuff ... done and done, give it a shot PastChief15 :)
 

n2mdk

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
2,441
Location
Ames, IA
N8IAA said:
You are correct. I must have looked at a different link.
Please forgive me for being human.
I'm one who makes plenty of mistakes so I guess I'm human as well. OK almost human.
 

pogbobo

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2007
Messages
642
Location
VA
PastChief15 said:
thanks all. ill give it a shot, but im pretty sure thats all set to where it should be.
let us know after you check it ... good luck



N8IAA said:
You are correct. I must have looked at a different link.
Please forgive me for being human.
no worries, happens to everyone, especially me, often, lol :)



n2mdk said:
I'm one who makes plenty of mistakes so I guess I'm human as well. OK almost human.
ah, all the pieces are falling into place :twisted: :lol: :)
 

stvnd53

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jun 16, 2004
Messages
261
Location
Toms River,NJ.
Here it is:Closed:X Type:MOT MOT Custom Trunking Table
#00:506.6875 Rx mode:MOT Base freq Offset Step
01:506.8375 Rx Mode:MOT 505.00000 380 12.500
02:508.4375 Rx Mode:MOT 0.0000000 0 0.000
0.0000000 0 0.000
Fleet Map Preset:select
0 SOO 4 SOO
1 SOO 5 SOO
2 SOO 6 SOO
3 SOO 7 SOO
ON # Alpha Tags ID LOut
0 * x 00 PD North 00288
Try this.It works great for me
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top