Pro 97 trying to stop on digital talkgroups?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grog

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,965
Location
West of Charlotte NC
I've noticed in the past (on a trip through an area with mostly analog, but some digital TGs) that my 97 would try to stop and all it would pass is digital noice while displaying a TG ID. i just locked them out (I was in search mode, then I did a quik-add) but I never went back to confirm those TG IDS.

While playing around today, I found the same thing happening on the NC Satae VIPER 800 site for Anderson Mt (in Catawba County). After writing it down & checking the TG ID with the RRDB, i see that it is indeed a digital TG assigned to Catawba county.

I guess I will have to try adding any problem digital TGs so they can be locked out. Has anyone else ever notice this?
 

DaveIN

Founders Curmudgen
Database Admin
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
6,514
Location
West Michigan
Sure it will see the talkgroup and "play" the audio, even when digital, on mixed-mode systems.
 

Grog

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,965
Location
West of Charlotte NC
Hopefully this will be found when someone else experiences the same issue. If someone were to be listening in open mode, they would have a lot of digital TGs to lockout (if the area was heavy in digital use).

Granted, most people will not be listening in opem mode except when testing.
 

cristisphoto

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
Messages
746
Digital and the Pro97

Ours is a mixed system and all you do is lock out those ID'S
Now though I have MY BCD396T and its not really a issue
BUt I have my Pro97 and it does the same thing..:D


Regards,
Crista
 

FireCop

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
319
Location
Mooresville, NC
James I get the same thing on Mooresville's system. The 97 will try to decode but put out the digital sound. The display will sometimes lock on the talkgroup and others keep flashing on and off like it won't lock on.
 

JoeyC

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,472
Location
San Diego, CA
The 97 doesn't try to decode anything. This is normal behavior for non digital scanners. Simply lockout the digital TGs or don't operate in open mode.
 

Zack08

Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2005
Messages
97
When I monitor the Lebanon, PA EDACS system both my '97 and '2055 never stop on the PROVOICE transmissions. Is this normal?

And yes, the banks are in "Open" mode.
 

W0JJK

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
546
My experience with the Pro 97 is this

-If the Digital is not Encrypted. It will try to decode digital clear talkgroups.

-If the users flip the switch to encrypted. It will just ingore the digital encrypted talkgroups totally.

KC0LOD
 

DaveIN

Founders Curmudgen
Database Admin
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
6,514
Location
West Michigan
radiorat47 said:
When I monitor the Lebanon, PA EDACS system both my '97 and '2055 never stop on the PROVOICE transmissions. Is this normal?

And yes, the banks are in "Open" mode.
No the 97 will not stop on ProVoice comms. The only version that I know of, that will, is the PRO-92 version 1.00 firmware. So all you hear on the PRO-92 during a ProVoice comm is digital noise.
 

Zack08

Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2005
Messages
97
Thats what I figured, I just wanted to make sure that there was nothing wrong with my radios.

Thanks guys!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top