Problem running sentinel on Windows 10

Murob

Newbie
Joined
Nov 4, 2020
Messages
4
After installing Sentinel on my computer I get the following message when I try to run the program.
I have reinstalled several times and get this same message each time. I just got my SDS100 and I would like
to start programming it using the Sentinel software. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.Screen Shot 2020-11-13 at 12.25.13 PM.png

Screen Shot 2020-11-13 at 12.25.13 PM.png
 

jtwalker

Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
101
Location
Gettysburg, PA
At what point in executing Sentinel does this happen? Do you have SDS100 connected to PC yet? Or the SD card in the PC?

Are you sure you have the right version of Sentinel installed? should be green shield on program icon
 

ProScan

Software Provider
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
4,583
Location
Ontario, Calif.
Delete this folder then run Sentinel again. You should see "Reconstructing database ..." type of message.
C:\ProgramData\Uniden\BCDx36HP_Sentinel\Database
 

Murob

Newbie
Joined
Nov 4, 2020
Messages
4
At what point in executing Sentinel does this happen? Do you have SDS100 connected to PC yet? Or the SD card in the PC?

Are you sure you have the right version of Sentinel installed? should be green shield on program icon
Error shows up as soon as I try to run Sentinel. SDS not connected to PC. SD card still in SDS100 and have the 2. ? software with Green program icon.
Delete this folder then run Sentinel again. You should see "Reconstructing database ..." type of message.
C:\ProgramData\Uniden\BCDx36HP_Sentinel\Database
Delete this folder then run Sentinel again. You should see "Reconstructing database ..." type of message.
C:\ProgramData\Uniden\BCDx36HP_Sentinel\Database

File listed not found on WIndows
C:\ProgramData\Uniden\BCDx36HP_Sentinel\Database
 

ProScan

Software Provider
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
4,583
Location
Ontario, Calif.
File listed not found on WIndows
C:\ProgramData\Uniden\BCDx36HP_Sentinel\Database
It should be there. Try this
Cut and paste this into the Win File Explorer.
%PROGRAMDATA%

After that, look for "Uniden". If you don't see it listed then type it in.
Same with "BCDx36HP_Sentinel" and "Database".
If you're at the Database folder now then delete the folder then restart Sentinel.
 

sfb88

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
90
Location
Baltimore, MD
Just an idea. Depending on how the user's account is set up with what rights, would it be possible that the Sentinel install program may need to be run with administrator rights to be able to create the file?
 

Murob

Newbie
Joined
Nov 4, 2020
Messages
4
It should be there. Try this
Cut and paste this into the Win File Explorer.
%PROGRAMDATA%

After that, look for "Uniden". If you don't see it listed then type it in.
Same with "BCDx36HP_Sentinel" and "Database".
If you're at the Database folder now then delete the folder then restart Sentinel.
Thank you so very much. It not loads and runs as designed.
 

ProScan

Software Provider
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
4,583
Location
Ontario, Calif.
C:\ProgramData\Uniden\BCDx36HP_Sentinel\Database
This folder should be there. If it wasn't then you will get a "Reconstructing Full Database" message automatically.

Perhaps the hidden files viewing option is disabled.

{edit}
Also you may want to try searching for the "MasterHpdb.hp1" file. That file or the hpdb.cfg file could be corrupted. If you find it, advise on the folder location.
 
Last edited:

Murob

Newbie
Joined
Nov 4, 2020
Messages
4
Just an idea. Depending on how the user's account is set up with what rights, would it be possible that the Sentinel install program may need to be run with administrator rights to be able to create the file?
Thanks for your suggestion. Got Sentinel running after deleting some folders and files and re-installing the software.....
 
Top