Programing Federal BOP UHF trunked system

Status
Not open for further replies.

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
5,080
Location
Raleigh, NC
Will anyone be able to help me load a UHF trunked system for the BOP in Butner NC?

The control channel is 406.600, CT showed 83.72, SID showed C514

VCs are 406.21875, 407.050, 407.200, 408.8125, 409.8125, 410.0125, 410.2125, 410.525, and 410.8125

I'm using a RS Pro-197 and a RS Pro-96.

Thanks So much!
 

rescue161

KE4FHH
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 5, 2002
Messages
3,235
Location
Hubert, NC
Double check the first voice channel as my calculator isn't jiving when trying to use that frequency.

If I try 406.2875, then it works out, but I need to besure before I can continue as I'm not in the area of the system.
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
5,080
Location
Raleigh, NC
That is the frequency I heard going to be back in the area in a couple hours, can't pick up the signal from home. Thanks

BTW will try offset of 380 and 12.5 step as it seems most common for BOP

Sent from my LGLS740 using Tapatalk
 

rescue161

KE4FHH
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 5, 2002
Messages
3,235
Location
Hubert, NC
Okay, I just ran some numbers and came up with the following:

Base Frequency - 406.2875
Offset - 380
Spacing - 12.5 kHz

Using anything else truncates some of the frequencies. Try that and see if it works.
 

rescue161

KE4FHH
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 5, 2002
Messages
3,235
Location
Hubert, NC
I just saw your post and if 406.21875 is legit, then 12.5 and 380 is not going to work.

It looks like they are using more than one range. If you have access to UniTrunker or another program that will tell you the channel data, that would be very helpful.
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
5,080
Location
Raleigh, NC
Looks like they are changing CC today it's on 407.050

Sent from my LGLS740 using Tapatalk
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
5,080
Location
Raleigh, NC
Seeing some talk groups pop up but no audio, can't get unitrunker to work. Any suggestions in the next hour will be appreciated. Meanwhile I'm playing with the settings.

Sent from my LGLS740 using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2010
Messages
1,133
Location
Peoria, IL
Seeing some talk groups pop up but no audio, can't get unitrunker to work. Any suggestions in the next hour will be appreciated. Meanwhile I'm playing with the settings.

Sent from my LGLS740 using Tapatalk
First off I didnt find that system in the database for one. Second to help out I would program all the freqs in one bank and lock out the current CC channel. Do not set it up as a trunked system. After you lock out the current CC I would scan that bank.
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
5,080
Location
Raleigh, NC
Seeing TG id 48048 48032 and 16048 but not hearing audio

Sent from my LGLS740 using Tapatalk
 

ChrisP

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 20, 2002
Messages
1,182
Location
Portland, OR
Thanks for the updates. They must have made some changes in the system as these frequencies don't match what I had for them originally.

The 406.21875 channel is probably a typo, as the federal bandplan is all 12.5 KHz steps, so I would try 406.0 as the base, 12.5 KHz for the step and 380 for the offset and see what happens.

- Chris

Will anyone be able to help me load a UHF trunked system for the BOP in Butner NC?

The control channel is 406.600, CT showed 83.72, SID showed C514

VCs are 406.21875, 407.050, 407.200, 408.8125, 409.8125, 410.0125, 410.2125, 410.525, and 410.8125

I'm using a RS Pro-197 and a RS Pro-96.

Thanks So much!
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2010
Messages
1,133
Location
Peoria, IL
Seeing TG id 48048 48032 and 16048 but not hearing audio

Sent from my LGLS740 using Tapatalk
You must still have it set up as a Trunked System. Do not set it up as a Trunked system. Are you trying this on the pro-96? If it is that one do not set it as a trunked system and lock out the control channel that is going right now. HTH.
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
5,080
Location
Raleigh, NC
Saw that from your original list I'm near the prison today trying to get it to come in get talk groups but no audio any suggestions

Sent from my LGLS740 using Tapatalk
 

ChrisP

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 20, 2002
Messages
1,182
Location
Portland, OR
You must still have it set up as a Trunked System. Do not set it up as a Trunked system..
He's trying to listen to a trunked system, so why would he not program it as a trunked system? The scanner is perfectly capable of tracking it, if it's programmed correctly.

- Chris
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
5,080
Location
Raleigh, NC
Ok making it conventional and locking out cc made the audio come in but no TG info

Sent from my LGLS740 using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2010
Messages
1,133
Location
Peoria, IL
He's trying to listen to a trunked system, so why would he not program it as a trunked system? The scanner is perfectly capable of tracking it, if it's programmed correctly.

- Chris
That is how I have mine set up and it works. I did what he did and the same thing happened to me a long time ago.
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
5,080
Location
Raleigh, NC
Trying everything all are suggesting have my laptop and the two scanners as we work through this

Sent from my LGLS740 using Tapatalk
 

ChrisP

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 20, 2002
Messages
1,182
Location
Portland, OR
That is how I have mine set up and it works. I did what he did and the same thing happened to me a long time ago.
Well, if all you want to do is listen, then that works. But you won't get any talk group information as you are not tracking the trunked system data, FWIW...

- Chris
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top