Programing Motorola 9600 SMARTZONE radio XTS3000 P25 800

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandalorian14

Newbie
Joined
Jun 12, 2017
Messages
1
Hello there are a few Frequencies I would like to put in my radio for a scanner, I want to put Summit County Springfield/Lakemore Police, Canton City Police Dispatch, and Akron dispatch, how would I do it it seamed confusing about all the Freqs.
 

wdz

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Jan 16, 2004
Messages
170
Location
Columbus, Ohio
You should not be programming a radio for a trunking system unless you are authorized to be on the system in which case talk to the systems admin and I'm sure they'd be happy to program it for you. You can get yourself in a lot of hot water and if you're lucky have your radio bricked.
 

mszabo2000

Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2011
Messages
186
Location
Rootstown, Oh
Hello there are a few Frequencies I would like to put in my radio for a scanner, I want to put Summit County Springfield/Lakemore Police, Canton City Police Dispatch, and Akron dispatch, how would I do it it seamed confusing about all the Freqs.
I agree with wdz's reply, use a scanner instead. All of the departments listed either use encryption today or will use encryption by the end of the year. Regardless if you use a radio or a scanner, you won't be able to listen to their traffic.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
1,915
Location
parma,ohio
radio system

i know of someone who did that to monitor canton and got into a TON of trouble he may do jail time for what he did
 

Septa3371CSX1

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
1,050
Location
Drexel Hill, PA
A few things here from someone who has an XTS3000 and monitors a 9600 baud TRS with it non-affiliate.

1) Make sure the radio can do 9600 baud trunking. Not all XTS3000's are flashed for it so you'll need to check the flash code.

2) Get someone who is familiar with using CPS software to do the programming for you. This way you'll greatly reduce the risk of your radio being "bricked."

3) Have it programmed for non-affiliate scan. My 800 MHz 3000 is fully TX-inhibited thus I only get a rejection bonk when I press the PTT.

4) If you are an authorized user for the system you wish to program it for then go through the proper channels to get it taken care of.

 

KCChiefs9690

CQ DX
Joined
Mar 20, 2004
Messages
1,794
Location
Lewis Center, OH
Hello there are a few Frequencies I would like to put in my radio for a scanner, I want to put Summit County Springfield/Lakemore Police, Canton City Police Dispatch, and Akron dispatch, how would I do it it seamed confusing about all the Freqs.
First, read this:

https://forums.radioreference.com/m...ou-want-monitor-trunked-system-moto-read.html

Second, and no offense, if you are confused about the frequencies you are about to be way in over your head. Your only bet is having a buddy who happens to be an expert at programming these, program it for you and do it absolutely correct. If he messes it up to where it affiliates on the system, you open yourself up to a whole host of legal troubles. A Motorola dealer won't do this programming for you, since you aren't an authorized system user.

Basically, just get a scanner. They work just fine.
 

allend

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 1, 2012
Messages
1,378
Location
Long Beach, CA
A few things here from someone who has an XTS3000 and monitors a 9600 baud TRS with it non-affiliate.

1) Make sure the radio can do 9600 baud trunking. Not all XTS3000's are flashed for it so you'll need to check the flash code.

2) Get someone who is familiar with using CPS software to do the programming for you. This way you'll greatly reduce the risk of your radio being "bricked."

3) Have it programmed for non-affiliate scan. My 800 MHz 3000 is fully TX-inhibited thus I only get a rejection bonk when I press the PTT.

4) If you are an authorized user for the system you wish to program it for then go through the proper channels to get it taken care of.


I would honestly stay away from the XTS3000 radios. They are just way too old and don't have the processor speed for no affiliate trunking. I would go with an XTS5000 and above. Remember you only have 200 scan lists that get eaten up real fast when programming no-affiliate trunking.

Even the APX radios only have 200 scan lists too. I would never say don't program one of these radios because I have had both scanners and commerical grade radios in the past and both are great. The commerical grade is only single band which is difficult to listen to a variety of other stuff through out the different bands like a scanner can operate.
 

kayn1n32008

ØÆS, I put that shØt on everything.
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
6,175
Location
Sector 001
I would honestly stay away from the XTS3000 radios. They are just way too old and don't have the processor speed for no affiliate trunking.
Processor speed has nothing to do with noaffiliate monitoring...
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,676
Location
Central Ontario
Processor speed has nothing to do with noaffiliate monitoring...
Every statement made on that post is wrong.
Commercial grade radios are available in multiband and no affiliate scanning does not have to use up a pile of scanlists.
The method which is floating around is one of many ways of setting your radio up. The author chose to slave one scanlist containing one channel to each channel which is way overkill.
 
Last edited:

gtaman

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
862
Location
GALAXY 19 91.0° W
One thing is the XTS3000 cant do 700Mhz if I recall. To solve this issue either buy yourself a scanner or a RELM KNG (it will cost you an arm and a leg) but they will do the job no problem. The RELM will save you with multicast issues though. But a scanner is way cheaper and can scan more than a radio.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top