• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Programmer 20

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thayne

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 1, 2002
Messages
2,130
Does anyone know if 20 was released separately from RPM or at the same time? I have heard several different opinions about if 20 will stand alone or only was intended as an addendum to RPM.
Having some problems with a flashcode I have never seen before---
 

Radioman96p71

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
1,027
Location
Polk County, IA
I like to think of RPM as being a branch from ProGrammer. RPM technically came out after ProGrammer, but does not support the legacy radios that the older one does. RPM supports the 7100 and up series (with support for some of the 700p models as well) whereas ProGrammer stopped development and is intended to be used to support the Orions, MRKs, LPEs etc that are still in service.

With a new purchase of RPM, you will get a copy of ProGrammer R20 as well.
 

Thayne

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 1, 2002
Messages
2,130
Thanks for the info, I was unable to program a 7100 with 18 even tho the 7100 is listed in 18. A tech I know that does a lot of programming said they use RPM for the 7100 but he said when they first came out 18 would work--so I guess it just got more complicated.
 

greenthumb

Colorado DB Administrator
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 29, 2004
Messages
1,935
There is a version of flash (and higher) for the 7100 that, as I recall, may require RPM....I could be mistaken about that though-
 

Thayne

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 1, 2002
Messages
2,130
There is a version of flash (and higher) for the 7100 that, as I recall, may require RPM....I could be mistaken about that though-
No, You are right, and I think the ones I have probably do, unfortunately :(

Maybe I can try R20 but it may be rare as hen's teeth---
 

greenthumb

Colorado DB Administrator
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 29, 2004
Messages
1,935
I think that starting at R18, the software needs a key that authenticates with the Harris servers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top