• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Programming Consolette/MIP 5000

Status
Not open for further replies.

KG5HHS

Member
Joined
May 10, 2015
Messages
561
Location
San Angelo, TX
Hello,
I've been working at a Comm Center for about 4 months now and have experience programming Motorola radios both mobile and portable. We use an MIP 5000 connected to an Astro Consolette. The Consolette has no faceplate, its just a creme colored cover. The consolette is digital as it is used for the sheriff's department. It needs to be reprogrammed to update / add new frequencies for departments. I have the hardware/software to program both Astro High & Low power as well as the Astro 25 radio's (Just not Astro Plus radios). I know I will need to take the cover off the consolette to reach the radio, but my question is, is that all I will need to do to reprogram it or is there more that needs to be done with in MIP5000 to update the channel's/names
 

N1GTL

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
903
Location
CT
There are different types of MIP5000 gateways....local, tone remote and digital. How is yours connected?

If it is already able to change channels, you most likely will not need to change the MIP5000.
 

jim202

Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2002
Messages
2,670
Location
New Orleans region
One quirk that the consolettes have is that channels 3 & 4 are swapped with channels 7 & 8. In simple words, channel 3 selection is really channel 7 in the radio. Channel 4 is really channel 8 in the radio. Channel 7 becomes channel 3 in the radio and channel 8 selection is really channel 4 in the radio.

Sounds confusing doesn't it. Blame the dumb engineers at Motorola for this great FUBAR. You just have to live with it and remember it when you program the radio.
 

KG5HHS

Member
Joined
May 10, 2015
Messages
561
Location
San Angelo, TX
Im not sure what type of gateway we use. all i know is that some radio's are connected to little black box. From the MIP5000 we are able to select "ZnUp", "Scan", Scroll up, & Scroll down.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
3,577
Location
Texas
The question will be what is the radio under the hood of the Astro consolette?

If it's an Astro Spectra, you'll need the DB15 and RIB setup with the Astro Spectra CPS.

If it's an Astro Spectra Plus, you'll need the Astro Plus programming cable.

If it's and XTL, you'll need either the Astro plus programming cable or the rear Accessory USB programming/test cable for the XTL/APX.

Realize, the Astro consolette is just a power supply, radio and tone/digital remote adapter in a box.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

KG5HHS

Member
Joined
May 10, 2015
Messages
561
Location
San Angelo, TX
I am about to take another look at the consolette to see what all I will need to open it up. I have attached pictures of the gateway, if that helps any. My only concern at the moment is the new channel line up on the MIP5000 console. I will be changing the names and channel locations, as well as adding channels. I just want to verify that what I program into the consolette will come across on the MIP5000.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
3,577
Location
Texas
Doesn't take any tools to remove the cover from the consolette. Just the proper application of a force vector.
 

KG5HHS

Member
Joined
May 10, 2015
Messages
561
Location
San Angelo, TX
I just verified that the radio is in fact an XTL5000. I don't have any XTL programming cables. Can someone please provide me with the model number(s) for these cables.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top