• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Programming M216 Issues/Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
The radio is a Motorola M-216/14 16-CH, UHF Mobile.
Software is M-120

When trying to read the codeplug The radio will stall in the data transfer around 45 of 64 sometimes as low as 26 of 64, The software flashes Attempting to access Serial bus. and then never re-establishes connection, Software ends up being closed this repeates over and over. It does it in GP300, M-208 and M-120 software. The radio was programmed using M-120 software.

Why is this thing having serial bus issues? How can this be corrected? I am about to chunk this POS onto the freeway and watch it be trampled by eighteen wheelers.

Thanks
 

zz0468

QRT
Banned
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
6,036
I'm not certain what software it's SUPPOSED to be programmed, but I imagine if M120 is known to have worked, then that's the stuff. What are you using for a rib? What computer? What operating system?
 

zz0468

QRT
Banned
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
6,036
Get a real RIB, make a cable, and run it on DOS. Oh... and read the programming primer on batlabs.
 

llu727

Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2003
Messages
56
Location
New Jersey
All of the above, plus it appears that you are using the wrong software.
The M120 series and the Radius M216 servies look like the same radio but arent.

GM300/M120/M130 use HVN8177
Radius M100/200/214/216 uses HVN9173 (also known as RABMBL)

Logic boards are different.
 

KC2VLC

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
6
Hi,

I'm sorry to dig up such a old thread but after reading the previous posts I'm wondering, can the M216 VHF radio be programmed using Windows XP???

I've also heard of people programming them using a serial to usb adapter, can this really be done? I don't have a old x286, x386, or x486 computer and I'm running a HP laptop from 2007-2008 and HP didn't put a serial port on the thing!!!

Thanks and 73's!
Mike
 

Luis_R

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2010
Messages
202
Hi,

I'm sorry to dig up such a old thread but after reading the previous posts I'm wondering, can the M216 VHF radio be programmed using Windows XP???

No, needs to run in true DOS.


I've also heard of people programming them using a serial to usb adapter, can this really be done? I don't have a old x286, x386, or x486 computer and I'm running a HP laptop from 2007-2008 and HP didn't put a serial port on the thing!!!

Thanks and 73's!
Mike
The adaptors work, but not in your case, as I stated the software needs to run in DOS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top