Programming my HTs for emergencies (East Bay)

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmccasland

Premium Subscriber
Hey folks,

Complete noobie here. I got my license. I bought some baofeng HTs (I am coming to understand this might queue some groaning, so go ahead..).

Now I want to program the HTs with useful emergency and repeater frequencies. A relatively short list with just what would be useful in the East Bay.

Does anyone have recommendations on which entries to include and exclude? ARES, RACES, Regional Park Services? I can't see why airport operations would be useful in an emergency.

And does anyone know how to transform the information in this database into what my HT needs? The lists here have columns:
Freq Output, Freq Input, FCC Callsign, Agency/Category, Description, Alpha Tag, PL Tone, Mode

Baofeng HTs need:
Loc, Freq, Name, Tone Mode, Tone, ToneSql, DTCS Code, DTCS Rx Code, DTCS Pol, Cross Mode, Duplex, Offset, Mode, Power, Skip

Thanks folks!
-don

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Assumptions are always dangerous, but I'll go out on a limb, forgive me….

As a new amateur and with a post count of 1, it needs to be made clear that your amateur radio license only authorizes you to transmit on amateur radio frequencies. An amateur radio license doesn't grant any privileges, even in an emergency, to transmit on any non-amateur frequencies. That includes aircraft, airport, parks district or any public safety frequencies. Unfortunately there's a lot of bad info on the internets that will claim otherwise. The FCC rules don't agree, and that's who we abide by.

Entirely OK to put non-amateur frequencies in as receive only, it's good for situational awareness. I'd also include the National Weather Service. Marine VHF frequencies can be useful since you are close to the bay.

For the amateur radio frequencies: