SDS100/SDS200: Programming Specific Searches

matdvd

Premium Subscriber
  • Total Newbie. Mid-50's. Highly intelligent, or so I thought.
  • SDS100, couple of diff antennas.
  • Newest version of ProScan.
  • Want the ability to scan certain groups of frequencies at different times/moods, I suppose.
Right now I have basically keyed my zip into the radio, and can scan all local channels well.

What I would like is to program blocks of searches that I can change and select. Such as just PD, or Fire, EMS, Air, all of the above, etc.

What I have found is that there is TONS to learn, and that manuals, software, and the like, is going to take a myriad of time to figure out. In the meantime, my wife and I would just like to enjoy listening to the specific happenings in the area.

Any help is much appreciated. Thx in advance.
Matt

n1chu

Premium Subscriber
Searches are somewhat more involved than if you have already programmed the scanner with Favorites Lists (FL’s). It sounds like you have the scanner receiving all that the zip code offers, which is to say the scanner is programmed for your area. You can create an FL or continue using the zip code offering. In either case (FL or zip code programming) you can start with selecting “Service Types”. Push the Squelch/Menu knob and scroll down the “Select Service Types”. Choose those that you want (fire, law enforcement, aircraft, etc.) and turn off those that don’t interest you.

dave3825

Premium Subscriber
What I would like is to program blocks of searches that I can change and select. Such as just PD, or Fire, EMS, Air, all of the above, etc.

Those searches you speak of do not really work like that any more. While they are geared more for scanning user set ranges, today police, fire and ems are now scattered all over the bands with a good portion being on trunked systems. Back in the day, many fd was on low band and many pd was in vhf so scanning those ranges would yield many results.