Programming Uniden BCD996P2 for Lake County Indiana

Status
Not open for further replies.

muzzhunter

Premium Subscriber
First of all, I'm completely new to this type of scanner. I have a BCD996P2 and I'm using Freescan software. I've installed the latest firmware on the scanner. I figured out how to import from RR and upload it to the scanner. everything seems to be stored in the scanner but I'm not receiving any audio from Lake County. I have been able to get audio from Porter county by uploading info, just not Lake county. I did see an error message during upload, no APCO band plan, but researched it and believe it is auto-populated, Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Attachments

• Scannertemp.zip
    4.1 KB · Views: 21

tvengr

Well Known Member
It is not necessary to load a band plan for almost all P25 systems. I understand that sometimes the wrong system type and site type are entered when you download from the database, but it was found to still work. I suggest changing the system type and site type to P25 Standard (Digital XT) to see if that makes any difference. If it still doesn't work, you are probably suffering from simulcast distortion. Lake County uses a 4 site simulcast system. Let me know if changing the system and site types makes any difference.

west-pac

I agree, likely a simulcast issue. I believe Porter county is simulcast also, but since you are outside of the simulcast towers you have a better chance of receiving it with a non-SDS scanner.

muzzhunter

Premium Subscriber
Thank you, Tried the switch still nothing as of yet. if I hold the scan and use the knob to go to any of the group channels a message appears alternately on-screen finding ctrl chan. I don't know if that means anything.

tvengr

Well Known Member