• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

ProVoice/OpenSky Question...

Status
Not open for further replies.

RadioDitch

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
1,928
Location
Nomadic
Have the opportunity to acquire my own P7250 for legit work purposes, but have a quick question for the experts before I make the jump also being ham/scanning enthusiast. The question is...

The radio, when properly programmed, should be able to receive an unencrypted, non-exclusive OpenSky and/or ProVoice system without a problem. Correct? Or would theI somehow need to be registered in that system?

For example...Middlesex County, NJ or the Pennsylvania State Police.
 

VE3RADIO

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
1,237
Location
Planet Earth
Have the opportunity to acquire my own P7250 for legit work purposes, but have a quick question for the experts before I make the jump also being ham/scanning enthusiast. The question is...

The radio, when properly programmed, should be able to receive an unencrypted, non-exclusive OpenSky and/or ProVoice system without a problem. Correct? Or would theI somehow need to be registered in that system?

For example...Middlesex County, NJ or the Pennsylvania State Police.

Provoice yes... Opensky I believe has forced encryption.
 

greenthumb

Colorado DB Administrator
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 29, 2004
Messages
1,935
I could be wrong here, but a P7200 may need different code running on the radio for OpenSky and EDACS/Conventional/P25, so they may not be able to run concurrently on a radio.
 

FFPM571

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Messages
1,114
Location
Chicago area
Opensky is IP based . Like every computer has an IP addres. If the system doesnt recognise the IP provided or the radio have the correct one from the system I wont work. Its like a system key.

at least that is how It was told to me.
 

RadioDitch

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
1,928
Location
Nomadic
Opensky is IP based . Like every computer has an IP addres. If the system doesnt recognise the IP provided or the radio have the correct one from the system I wont work. Its like a system key.

at least that is how It was told to me.
But is that for TX only or TX/RX?
 

FFPM571

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Messages
1,114
Location
Chicago area
Before the radio is ready to do anything on the system it has to download a profile so if it doesnt have the correct information it will not validate the radio .When the radio is turned on it sends out the packet that its on the system. Once the radio recieves the informaton it will operate on the system the info has to match what the system has and then to validate it all. The users informantont is hardcoded in the radios themselves.

So if it doesnt recognise the radio it wont let it on the system and wont recieve.
 
Joined
May 13, 2003
Messages
173
Location
Texas
I could be wrong here, but a P7200 may need different code running on the radio for OpenSky and EDACS/Conventional/P25, so they may not be able to run concurrently on a radio.
The code is different, in that there are two separate code loads into the radio, one for EDACS/P25 and conventional, and one for OpenSky, but they can live in the radio concurrently, and you can switch between them.

As has been pointed out, unless an OpenSky radio is provisioned by the system, it can't listen, so you can't have an OPenSky scanner unless the radio is known to the system. P25 and EDACS - yep, that will work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top