ProVoice sucessfully decoded with DSD 1.3! in Palm Bay FL

Status
Not open for further replies.

mhzscan

I have successfully decoded ProVoice using DSD 1.3!!! I got a 97% rate on the voice recovery, that is not bad at all considering I was using the MIC input instead of the preferred LINE input. I tested this on the Palm Bay Police Provoice Talkgroups and it worked great! Details & info are pretty hard to find on how DSD is configured to work. The wiki doesnt really state that much and the README is very technical, even for me and im a Microsoft professional. The forums however were a bit helpful.

Soooo, basically DSD runs on Linux and decodes the digital audio on a voice channel using a discriminator tap. Its NOT decoding the control channel only the voice portion of it. The tap is connected to a computer via a LINE or MIC input. DSD and an app called Mbelib do the rest. I believe this will only work on conventional scanners and not the trunking scanners, since trunktrackers will automatically ignore provoice transmissions. Again, my understanding is that tracking will have to be done manually for now.
Also XT's C_CH feature will NOT work with DSD.

Maybe in future versions, there will be a way to get it to work with trunktrackers.
DSD looks very promising and considering its open source, I wouldn't be too surprised if Uniden incorporates this to it's future TT lineup.

Wiki Link:
Digital Speech Decoder (software package) - The RadioReference Wiki

Helpfull Forum Threads:
http://forums.radioreference.com/tr...oding/179709-dsd-1-3-mbelib-1-2-released.html

http://forums.radioreference.com/tr...505-need-help-installing-dsd-into-ubuntu.html

http://forums.radioreference.com/tr...l-speech-decoder-1-2-mbelib-1-1-released.html

AlexC

Database Admin
Very cool.