PSR-310 ARC-310 or WIN500 ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

cdtek1969

Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2011
Messages
28
Location
Las Vegas, NV
I searched the forum for this, and found nothing specific
to my question, so I am tossing this out for owners using these
software models;

I have a PSR-310 and wondered what is the best of these two:

ARC-310 or WIN500 ??

Looking for ease of use (first timer)

Also looking for advanced items such as
1 - Tracking hit counters
2 - Ability to upload new added info on the fly from scanner
3 - Also would be nice to export info to Excel

Whats your thoughts on these two.....

Thanks,

Bill
 
Last edited:

zl2taw

Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2006
Messages
575
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Hi there Bill, both these can be downloaded as a trial.
Have a play with them both & see what one you prefer.

Everybody has different tastes :)
 

GTR8000

Well Known Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
7,524
Location
BEE00
I find PSREdit310 easier to use, however if hit logging/audio recording is something you think you might use, go with Win500.


1 - Tracking hit counters
Both programs will show the hits, however Win500 has the ability to increment the hits in the software on-the-fly when it's in control/logging mode. PSREdit310 does not do that, you'd have to download the data from the scanner each time, then save to a file.

2 - Ability to upload new added info on the fly from scanner
Not sure exactly what you mean by that. The PSR-310 itself requires a full overwrite each time you upload programming from the software. If you make changes on the scanner, you can download those changes to either program, but there's no "merge" function per se.


Like zl2taw said, both are free to try fully functional for 30 days. Install them both and compare them for yourself side by side.
 
Last edited:

cdtek1969

Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2011
Messages
28
Location
Las Vegas, NV
I find PSREdit310 easier to use, however if hit logging/audio recording is something you think you might use, go with Win500.

Not sure exactly what you mean by that. The PSR-310 itself requires a full overwrite each time you upload programming from the software. If you make changes on the scanner, you can download those changes to either program, but there's no "merge" function per se.
That's what I mean, if I add a frequencies I want to make sure I can
download to software ( backup of my scan lists I guess is what I ment to say)
 

cdtek1969

Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2011
Messages
28
Location
Las Vegas, NV
Does the help menu not work in psredit310 in demo mode ?
Says webpage canceled....

I need to know if I can import a csv file or paste from excel
to a blank scanlist instead of typing all the custom frequencies.
 

cdtek1969

Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2011
Messages
28
Location
Las Vegas, NV
Found my answer to the help file;

To allow the help file to be viewed, follow this process:

Navigate to the folder where PSREdit310 was installed and locate the PSREdit310.chm file.
Right click on the PSREdit310.chm file.
Select the Properties option from the menu.
Near the bottom of the window, there should be an Unblock button. Click this option to unblock the contents of the file.
 

GTR8000

Well Known Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
7,524
Location
BEE00
Go to the Conventional Objects or Trunking Objects tab, then right-click and choose Import from CSV File
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top