Psr-500 Firmware update problem?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JohnnyK

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 20, 2005
Messages
20
Tried to update firmware and it didnot take so now the scanner does nothing. So i was wondering how i might get back to where it worked. Grateful for any help. JohnnyK (John_Kerkes@yahoo.com)
 

KD4YGG

Active Member
Database Admin
Joined
Jan 30, 2001
Messages
2,044
1) Did you check your firmware before the upgrade according to the instructions?
2) Did you re-try doing the upgrade?
3) Were your batteries charged sufficiently before the upgrade?
 

Ensnared

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 24, 2004
Messages
3,386
Location
Waco, Texas
GRE Telephone

Tried to update firmware and it didnot take so now the scanner does nothing. So i was wondering how i might get back to where it worked. Grateful for any help. JohnnyK (John_Kerkes@yahoo.com)
I don't know about this since I believe I have the latest version; however, if you like, you can call this number: 650-591-1400. When GRE called me, I saved this number. I would ask whoever answers the phone for some help.
 

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
5,522
Tried to update firmware and it didnot take so now the scanner does nothing. So i was wondering how i might get back to where it worked. Grateful for any help. JohnnyK (John_Kerkes@yahoo.com)

What do you mean by "does nothing"?

Is the screen blank when you turn it on?

Does anything appear on the screen, if so, what does it say?

Were there any error messages when you were doing the updating?

If so, what did it say?

Did the communication test pass when you pushed the "Test" button at the start of the update?
 

JohnnyK

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 20, 2005
Messages
20
uP Boot Ver:F1.4
uP App Ver: NONE
CPU SW Upgrade
Waite for PC/IF This now what is on my screen.
 

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
5,522
uP Boot Ver:F1.4
uP App Ver: NONE
CPU SW Upgrade
Waite for PC/IF This now what is on my screen.
Delete the update file on your computer and download it from GRE again in case it got corrupted.

Be sure you are downloading the correct file, and be sure to un-zip it before using it.

There are 2 updater files in the zip file. Read the PDF instructions there carefully to determine which one you should be using according to your scanner's Boot Version.

Start the process again - use the A/C power adaptor. Follow the instructions to the letter.

Be sure you know which com port your cable is using, and use the "Test" button at the start of the update process to be sure you are communicating with the scanner.

By the way, This is a quote from the instructions:

"Upgrading your scanner is a quick, simple and safe process. There is no way you can
render your scanner inoperable by performing the upgrade."
 
Last edited:

JohnnyK

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 20, 2005
Messages
20
Still nothing just a box that states "No CPU application code".
 

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
5,522
Still nothing just a box that states "No CPU application code".
Where is that box? on the computer or on the scanner?

Try re-setting your scanner to factory defaults. This will delete any programming you have put into the scanner, but at this point you can't use it anyway.

Turn it off first.

Get ready to use the following keys, you have to press them pretty quick when you turn it on again.

0, 1, ENT

Turn it on, and as soon as you see the "Welcome" screen, press those three keys in sequence quickly. It will ask you to confirm twice by pressing any key, and then it will re-boot.

Then try the upgrade again
 

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
5,522

confirm these FIVE things:

=======================================
You downloaded this file:

PSR-500/PSR-600 CPU Firmware U2.1 - Powered By Kayako SupportSuite

========================================

You are 100% sure that you UN-ZIPPED the download before trying to use it.

=======================================

Turn off the scanner.
=========================================

You ran THIS EXACT file to start the updating (Check the name carefully):

CPUUpdater_PSR-500-600-BootF14_U2.1.exe

=====================================================

You HOLD DOWN the PGM key while turning on the scanner when it tells you to.
 

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
5,522
Can't thank you enough i am back in business.

To help others that have a similar problem with that error message, what did you do to finally get it working?

Were you using the wrong exe file or not un-zipping the download?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top