PSR-500 missing 1st bit of some transmissions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sownman

Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
142
Location
Santa Clarita Calif
I seem to recall a post about this but I can't find it now. I have noticed more and more, and was reminded again this morning that I seem to miss first words on some analogue transmissions fairly often. This morning I was standing next to the conductor on my train with my radio in manual on the RR freq. I heard his radio start as expected "Metrolink detector milepost 15.7........"
My radio just got "ink detector milepost 15.7....." I lost the Metro part of the first word.

Is there a solution to this ?


Thanks

Steve
 

jehm1212

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2005
Messages
264
Location
Hanover County, VA
If you have the squelch mode set to "auto," then the radio waits to unsquelch the audio until it is sure that the transmission is analog. Your best bet would be to either set the squelch to "none" (csq) or to enter the pl code.
 

JoeyC

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,400
Location
San Diego, CA
Sownman said:
I seem to recall a post about this but I can't find it now. I have noticed more and more, and was reminded again this morning that I seem to miss first words on some analogue transmissions fairly often. This morning I was standing next to the conductor on my train with my radio in manual on the RR freq. I heard his radio start as expected "Metrolink detector milepost 15.7........"
My radio just got "ink detector milepost 15.7....." I lost the Metro part of the first word.

Is there a solution to this ?


Thanks

Steve
Yes! I had this same problem. The radio has a setting DG Int Prime found by hitting PGM / FUNC /GLOB then scrolling to the setting. The default is 60 (I think). I lowered mine to 20 and I don't miss the beginning of the analog transmissions now. The tradeoff for this is you MAY get a momentary digital brrrapp at the beginning of digital transmissions. The lower the setting, the quicker the radio will open up to analog signals and the more brrrrappp you may hear on digital. With mine at 20, I don't have any problems picking up the start of analog transmissions nor do I hear much motorboarding. Your mileage may vary.

Joe
 

rdale

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Joined
Feb 3, 2001
Messages
11,356
Location
Lansing, MI
Add "TONE SEARCH" to the conventional frequency - it will no longer wait to check for digital.
 

Sownman

Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
142
Location
Santa Clarita Calif
rdale said:
Add "TONE SEARCH" to the conventional frequency - it will no longer wait to check for digital.
I'm not sure what you mean here. Do you mean to set the squelch mode to Search or are you telling me something else ? Other than that I don't see a Tone Search.

I did lower the setting on the digital from 60 to 30 which seems to do the trick.

Steve
 

scanfan03

Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2003
Messages
1,653
Location
Houston, Texas
If you make go to the conventional channel in question, then edit it and scroll down to Sq Mode: CTCSS. Make that say search instead.
 

Sownman

Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
142
Location
Santa Clarita Calif
scanfan03 said:
If you make go to the conventional channel in question, then edit it and scroll down to Sq Mode: CTCSS. Make that say search instead.
It always has, thats why I was a bit confused. Thought maybe there was a setting I was missing. At any rate changing that dig setting fixes the problem.

Steve
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top