• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

QCII Conventional with Tone Signal enabled

Bethanylt241

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2017
Messages
163
Location
Bethany WV
I have a APX6000 set with Tone Signaling enabled. I have the P25 QCII figured out for the most part, But struggling on the Conventional side. So I was able to set up Digital decoding and assign tones and a Alert tone (standard pager tone). I am looking to set up my Conventional paging system the same. Am I able to assign my conventional page to alert a selection of tones like you can on the digital side (standard pager tone)? Without the Tone Signal enabled I originally had just two quick beeps. Any help to this matter will greatly help.
 

GTR8000

NY/NJ Database Guy
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
15,646
Location
BEE00
When you say "conventional" I assume you mean analog. QA09000 Digital Tone Signaling only works for P25 conventional or trunking (hence the "digital" in the feature name). For analog conventional, you're limited to a QCII conventional personality (two quick beeps) only.
 

Bethanylt241

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2017
Messages
163
Location
Bethany WV
Yes it’s Analog I am meaning. Although the firmware release notes stat the toning is suppose to work across the board. Digital, Conventional, and Analog. Or did I read that wrong? I disabled Instant Playback as well as it mentioned too.
 

GTR8000

NY/NJ Database Guy
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
15,646
Location
BEE00
I've not found any way to get a conventional analog channel to alert based on the Tone Signaling setup. AFAIK the only reason the Tone Signaling profiles are selectable in a conventional personality is for P25 decoded and/or QCII encoding on analog. It doesn't really make any sense that you can encode but not decode based on a Tone Signaling profile, but this is MSI we're talking about, so.
 

Bethanylt241

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2017
Messages
163
Location
Bethany WV
This is interesting, Thank you for the information. My next issue is, I got everything set up in QC II on Conventional in both system and personality. From radio to radio I can page and the radios alert. When we did a tone test from the Dispatch Center they did not trip. Tones are correct I verified that, could garbled tones or not so clear/static cause interference for the radio not to trip?
 

GTR8000

NY/NJ Database Guy
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
15,646
Location
BEE00
You figured out how to get the Tone Signaling alerts to work with an analog conventional QCII personality/frequency? Do tell. I haven't tried it in some time, but when I did (probably several firmware revisions ago) it wouldn't work as expected.
 

Bethanylt241

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2017
Messages
163
Location
Bethany WV
I did. So you must create an MDC system and enable QCII under the MDC System, enter the tones you wish to alert. Then on Tone Signaling Tab Enter the same tones again, select your alert tone. Go to Conventional Personality, Non Astro sections, select up your MDC System where you entered Your tones, I selected Decode/Encode for selective call and call alert, find the tab for Tone Signaling and assign the tone signaling list you created. Note that the Tones you want To alert must be in Tone Signaling tab and MDC system and selected up in the Conventional Personality Should be a go after that.
 

GTR8000

NY/NJ Database Guy
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
15,646
Location
BEE00
Yeah, I tried all that, never worked as expected. I'll give it another shot with R32.

It's worth noting that if it does work, you're limited to the small amount of tone combinations that the QCII/MDC personality can accommodate, as opposed to the list of 100 tone sets Tone Signaling can accommodate. Pretty silly, doesn't seem like MSI gave it much thought. What they should've done was allowed Tone Signaling to optionally completely supersede the traditional analog QCII setup.

Anyway, off to shoot a codeplug for testing.
 

Bethanylt241

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2017
Messages
163
Location
Bethany WV
I’m on the latest firmware update if that helps. I see what you’re saying, I am stuck at this time trying to figure out how to add more tones in QCII without having to add another personality. I’d like multiple tones from 1 system and 1 personality. Can’t seem to get that far yet
 

GTR8000

NY/NJ Database Guy
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
15,646
Location
BEE00
Well I'll be damned...radio just alerted, standard "Minitor" tone per the choice in tone signaling for that set of tones. Sometimes I love being wrong! 😂

I'll have to add a few more sets of tones to the tone signaling list to see if the radio alerts for those, or will only be looking for the short list of tones in the QCII/MDC conventional personality.
 

Bethanylt241

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2017
Messages
163
Location
Bethany WV
It seems to me its only the tones in the MDC System, I havent figured out how to get more then one tone set going without creating another system and personality. Will update if i find anything else out
 
Top