• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Quantro Port

Status
Not open for further replies.

itji

Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2006
Messages
13
Hi folks,

I wonder about the orange port on the back side of my quantro, any one know about this port? is there any port to use for linking the quantro to other side ?

thanks in advance

DY
 

RocketNJ

Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
892
Location
Pequannock, NJ
Are you referring to the 8 pin plug in back? That's for wireline connections (if you have a wireline board installed).

1 Line 1 +
2 Line 1 -
3 Line 2 +
4 Line 2 -
5 Line 3 +
6 Line 3 -
7 Line 4 +
8 Line 4 -
 

itji

Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2006
Messages
13
Oh well, I am Actually looking for COS signal, is there any where I can find in this radio? I don't have any manual with me.. :-(
 

RocketNJ

Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
892
Location
Pequannock, NJ
The 50 pin connector is what you want. Pin 32 is ground and pin 37 is RX code detect. If you program the Quantar for PL + Squelch for RX activation then that will be the qualifier for that output. When using an external controller on my QUantar it required me to invert the signal (a transistor to invert the logic).
 

itji

Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2006
Messages
13
Okey then on pin 32 and pin 37, I will got COS, will I got PTT on this port too?.. I plan to use computer, so I can link my quantro through VOIP such as eQSO etc.. and use the 4 wire line that I got Installed as the audio port.. is it possible ?
 

RocketNJ

Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
892
Location
Pequannock, NJ
I've sent you the Quantar field manual which details the pinouts. That should get you going.

You can look into using the MRTI connections for the VoIP interface. I've done that with external repeater controllers.
 

itji

Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2006
Messages
13
Thanks Dave, I've got your email.. I look forward to get to know much about this equipment.

DY
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top