Yaesu: Question About Yaesu and 70CM Simplex Talking

Status
Not open for further replies.

RockyBennett

Newby
Hello All, I am having a little problem that I can't figure out but I know that some smart radio guy here can help me with. I am very new to amateur radio and I am still playing with my equipment and learning. I have a Yaesu FT3DR and a Yaesu FTM300-DR which I am trying to set-up for daily use. My understanding is that 446.000 is the 70CM National simplex frequency. On both of my Yaesu radios I can not simply press my PTT button and talk on that frequency. When I set up 446.000 as my RX frequency my PTT button shifts the TX frequency to 441.000. I do not know how to correct this little issue. I have studied my manuals and I do not see where I can eliminate the offset.

Can someone please point me in the right direction to clear up my confusion.

Thank you,

Rocky

nd5y

Read the manual again. There has to be a section on repeater operation and how to change from simplex to +/- shift direction and offset. Some Yaesu radios have a menu setting for Automatic Repeater Shift (ARS). You need to disable it. It is mostly useless. If you already have 446.0 programmed into a memory channel you will have to change the offset to S and then overwrite (or delete and save) the memory channel.

cmjonesinc

Premium Subscriber
For the ft3dr Page 81, section 14. Automatic repeater shift. You'll want it off for simplex use.

nd5y

...l you will have to change the offset to S...
That should be change the repeater shift direction to S or OFF or whatever the manufacturer calls simplex is on that radio.
Offset makes no difference when the shift is set to simplex.

cmjonesinc

Premium Subscriber
Thank you very much. I will have a quick look into this and post back.

Thanks again.