Question Concerning Yagis

Status
Not open for further replies.

jasonscottlewis

Premium Subscriber
Im fairly new in the scanner trunking. I have a Uniden BCD996P2. I’m looking for a Yagi that will work well with this scanner. I can pick up to about 30 miles on my telescoping antenna, but it doesn’t pick up the GM factory frequencies that I know uses MotoTrbo. I’ve taken my scanner into work and scanned the frequencies, so I know there are active LCNs. Any suggestions?

chief21

Premium Subscriber
Summer - Western NC; Winter - Tampa Bay FL
I don't have any suggestions for a yagi, but you should consider that many factory radio systems are engineered only to cover the factory floor and the immediate surrounding area. Unlike "wide-area" radio systems that are intended or required to provide coverage to complete cities or counties, this may make a factory radio system signal difficult or impossible to receive many miles away. Certain systems have been known to use very low power and "leaky coax", rather than a typical external antenna, so that the radio signals are intentionally limited only to where they are really needed.

amemait

Premium Subscriber
looking for a Yagi that will work well with this scanner

A Yagi antenna is most efficient for a specific frequency, and usually has a fairly small bandwidth. And you didn't specify the frequency you want to monitor. Personally, I build my own Yagi antennas for ham radio, but purchased a Discone antenna for my BCD996P2 scanner.