Question on Digital Frequency?

Status
Not open for further replies.

atms169

Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
50
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
I am wondering, I have been listening to an APCO25 freq on 146.895 Mhz yet, my BC895 will not decode it. Is this because I have no control channel for this frequency punched in?

Tnx
 

electricsheep

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
503
Location
electricsheep
atms169 said:
I am wondering, I have been listening to an APCO25 freq on 146.895 Mhz yet, my BC895 will not decode it. Is this because I have no control channel for this frequency punched in?

Tnx
No, your 895 will not "decode it" because it is digital. The 895 is not a digital capable scanner. Plus who are the amateur radio guys in town running P25?!
 

atms169

Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
50
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
MatteBlack said:
No, your 895 will not "decode it" because it is digital. The 895 is not a digital capable scanner. Plus who are the amateur radio guys in town running P25?!
I'm an idiot, no I am running a BC396T and I am not sure what version of software it is, I have not updated it in months. Maybe it has something to do with it?

Well if you listen in the Calgary, AB area you will hear it every so often. I get a solid signal on my scanner and can here the transmissions (Just like CPS digital) and when I switch it to APCO mode I just get silence and yet, the signal bars are full scale.

Who's amateur?
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
atms169 said:
I'm an idiot, no I am running a BC396T and I am not sure what version of software it is, I have not updated it in months. Maybe it has something to do with it?

Well if you listen in the Calgary, AB area you will hear it every so often. I get a solid signal on my scanner and can here the transmissions (Just like CPS digital) and when I switch it to APCO mode I just get silence and yet, the signal bars are full scale.

Who's amateur?
I have heard something similar in Edmonton. I found a couple of hams using some digital convertor sold by a third party company. My 396T would not decode it but another convertor did.
 

atms169

Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
50
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
brechtd said:
I have heard something similar in Edmonton. I found a couple of hams using some digital convertor sold by a third party company. My 396T would not decode it but another convertor did.
Oh hams ok... Well I heard it again this evening and it still was a no go decoding it. I also did a google search and found this:

GOOGLE SEARCH: "146.895" Calgary

The HamGearS :: News & InformationTHE CALGARY D-STAR "PROJECT 2006". UPDATE - D-Star 146.895 -600 Digital

Looks like they have gone digital. Now I am wondering why the 396T can't decode it?
 

UPMan

In Memoriam
Uniden Representative
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,296
Location
Arlington, TX
Because the transmission is D-Star digital encoded. The 396 supports only P25 digital decoding.
 

STiMULi

Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2004
Messages
1,584
Location
Tucson, Arizona
It is a whogivesadamnmode that will probably die because it is proprietary and to my knowledge currenly used in ham radio only.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
STiMULi said:
It is a whogivesadamnmode that will probably die because it is proprietary and to my knowledge currenly used in ham radio only.
Your comments sum up my thoughts on D-STAR completely.

What a waste of money D-STAR crap is. P25 works/sounds better, is compatible with other digital LMR comm's, and is CHEAPER to buy on eBay.

Leave it up to hams to do something the stupid/backasswards way.

Oh, and DSTAR doesn't support hardware encryption :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top