Question's please GRE 600 or 996 t

Status
Not open for further replies.

johncoleman

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
1
Location
Novato , California 94945
Hello, Does the GRE 500/600 have the buttons like the pro 96 or 2096 where you can push one button and lock out a channel or push one button and turn on a channel. 2) which scanner is better 996t or gre digital scanners .

THANK YOU
 

Pap

Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2003
Messages
61
Location
Pittsburgh,Pa.
Question's please GRE 600 or 996 t Reply to Thread

Uniden Hands Down. And I Have The 999t-396t And The 500 & 600.


Pap.
 

DonS

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
4,106
Location
Franktown, CO
Uniden Hands Down. And I Have The 999t-396t And The 500 & 600.
Might depend on what you're monitoring and your preferred features.

You'll likely get a bunch of responses in this forum that will say "GRE, hands down" when comparing the PSR-600 to the brand-U radio mentioned by the O.P.
 

DonS

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
4,106
Location
Franktown, CO
Hello, Does the GRE 500/600 have the buttons like the pro 96 or 2096 where you can push one button and lock out a channel or push one button and turn on a channel
If you're referring to a "Lockout" key that locks out the current channel in SCAN, MAN, or PGM modes, yes, the GRE PSR-500/600 has it. By default, pressing that button does a "temporary lockout" that is reset the next time you power-cycle the scanner, while pressing FUNC L/OUT does a "permanent" lockout (like the PRO-96/2096). The functionality (i.e. FUNC vs. no-FUNC) of temporary vs. permanent lockout can be changed via a menu item.
 

johncoleman

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
1
Location
Novato , California 94945
thank you but

I am talking about say the 2096 i can hit number 4 on the front of the scanner and that channel is now off then i can push say 5 and 6 and those channels are on . the whole thing only takes seconds and i have the channel i want . I ask this becuase when i drive from marin county (channel 4 my scanner) to san francisco( channel 5 my scanner) I push 4 and five at once and now i am listining to san fran and marin is off . what other scanner will let me do this but the 2096 .
 

DonS

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
4,106
Location
Franktown, CO
I am talking about say the 2096 i can hit number 4 on the front of the scanner and that channel is now off then i can push say 5 and 6 and those channels are on . the whole thing only takes seconds and i have the channel i want . I ask this becuase when i drive from marin county (channel 4 my scanner) to san francisco( channel 5 my scanner) I push 4 and five at once and now i am listining to san fran and marin is off . what other scanner will let me do this but the 2096 .
It sounds like you're describing turning entire "banks" on and off while scanning. If that's what you mean... yes, the PSR-500/600 have something similar: while scanning, pressing 1-0 or FUNC+ 1-0 turn on/off "scan lists" 1-10 and 11-20.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top