• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Quick Call II question

Status
Not open for further replies.

FirstDue5

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2017
Messages
36
Location
Georgia
So my department uses DTMF tones to tone out specific stations, and then 2-tone for volunteer paging (combined fire department) and I'm trying to figure out if the 2-tones that they use are quick call, how would I go about finding that out? I have a CP200 and I want to program it to alert for the 2-tones
 

N1GTL

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
735
Location
CT
Lots of phone apps out there what can listen to the tones and tell you what they are.
 

FirstDue5

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2017
Messages
36
Location
Georgia
Yeah I have an app that is supposed to detect MDC-1200 and QCII, but when my department tones go off, it picks up nothing, leaving me thinking that they are not QCII tones. Am I still gonna be able to program the cp200 to tones even if they aren't QCII?
 

jim202

Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2002
Messages
2,558
Location
New Orleans region
So my department uses DTMF tones to tone out specific stations, and then 2-tone for volunteer paging (combined fire department) and I'm trying to figure out if the 2-tones that they use are quick call, how would I go about finding that out? I have a CP200 and I want to program it to alert for the 2-tones
The best way to figure out if your looking at QC-2 or something else is to pay attention to the duration of the tones.

You can do a simple search on the internet to get information on the exact timing so we don't give you the wrong information. It should also provide the tables that have the different tones.

I know this is not a very good answer, but it would help if you supplied more details.
 

SteveC0625

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
2,574
Location
Northville, NY (Fulton County)
So my department uses DTMF tones to tone out specific stations, and then 2-tone for volunteer paging (combined fire department) and I'm trying to figure out if the 2-tones that they use are quick call, how would I go about finding that out? I have a CP200 and I want to program it to alert for the 2-tones
Someone in your department should know what the tones are. If you have someone who takes care of your pagers, he or she would most likely have that information.

This file will help you program your CP200 for Quik-Call II: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3k529wkRVv1WDZKRVdVZ084eDA/view?usp=sharing
 

FirstDue5

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2017
Messages
36
Location
Georgia
I got the tones that I needed, thanks for the help. but now, I do not see an "AND" or "OR" in my personalities, there is no "PTT Sidetone" "PreTime" or "Long Tone Duration" options in my Quick-Call II ....Do I need to update something on the radio? I have CPS RO5.16
 

SteveC0625

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
2,574
Location
Northville, NY (Fulton County)
I got the tones that I needed, thanks for the help. but now, I do not see an "AND" or "OR" in my personalities, there is no "PTT Sidetone" "PreTime" or "Long Tone Duration" options in my Quick-Call II ....Do I need to update something on the radio? I have CPS RO5.16
Modified info for your CP200, ignore those settings except And/Or. See below.

Make sure you are in Expert View. Click the view button at the top of the window to change from Basic to Expert.

On the personality window, on the Rx side, set your Rx signalling to be Quik-Call II System 1. Then the Signalling Squelch box will let you change to AND or OR depending on how you want this set up.
 

FirstDue5

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2017
Messages
36
Location
Georgia
So the tone I want to put in, is a volunteer 2-tone, with the A tone being 1102.0 Hz lasting 1.2 seconds according to Two Tone Finder. B tone is 457.0 Hz lasting 2.2 seconds, again according to Two Tone Finder. I do not believe that these are QCII, but can my radio still decode these?
 

SteveC0625

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
2,574
Location
Northville, NY (Fulton County)
So the tone I want to put in, is a volunteer 2-tone, with the A tone being 1102.0 Hz lasting 1.2 seconds according to Two Tone Finder. B tone is 457.0 Hz lasting 2.2 seconds, again according to Two Tone Finder. I do not believe that these are QCII, but can my radio still decode these?
Yes, your radio should decode them.

I don't find those tones on any of my charts. Try RadioID on your smartphone and see if you get different readings. It won't give you the timing, but I find that it is more accurate for the tone frequencies.

One second/two seconds is pretty standard for most two-tone decoding these days so don't get too hung up on the exact timing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top