• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

R15 Firmware

carcarjg

Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2020
Messages
37
Location
NY
So I've got R15Csomething. And I'm trying to program my P7200 for ham band stuff and every time I program I get this error. and the radio doesn't program. Does anyone have the firmware for this? Its running R12C02 currenly.

1603229715856.png
 

carcarjg

Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2020
Messages
37
Location
NY
Hang on, what ham stuff are you trying to program into a P7200?
Sorry for the wording. I meant like scanning local business and stuff along with local analog stuff.

I would say do radio maintance ..click on .radio info first ...to read the credintials first
No can do. It doesnt read it. Guess I need to track down this firmware version?
 

snoopyII

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
293
Location
On the other side of the tracks
What version of RPM are you using? It sounds like you have a Firmware/RPM compatibility issue. R12 firmware (ECP) is ancient, it pre-dates XGP which itself is pretty old by firmware standards.
 

carcarjg

Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2020
Messages
37
Location
NY
What version of RPM are you using? It sounds like you have a Firmware/RPM compatibility issue. R12 firmware (ECP) is ancient, it pre-dates XGP which itself is pretty old by firmware standards.
Rpm15c.
 

Forts

Mentor
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
5,908
Location
Ontario, Canada
If you can get your hands on it, I highly suggest R06L07. Run that on my XG75p without any problems.
He's using a P7200.... Not an XG75. The latest XGP code for the 7200 I believe is R06D13, where XLP on the XG series is R06M03.
 

carcarjg

Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2020
Messages
37
Location
NY
He's using a P7200.... Not an XG75. The latest XGP code for the 7200 I believe is R06D13, where XLP on the XG series is R06M03.
Wait. The latest for the 72 is R06D13? Is Harris counting backwards this time around? Or is that RPM2 firmware?
 

Forts

Mentor
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
5,908
Location
Ontario, Canada
It gets confusing with ECP / XGP / XLP versions of the firmware. For the 7200 the last ECP version was R16, then it switched to the XGP platform which goes up to R06 (I believe they stopped adding new features around R04... it's just bug fixes beyond that). With newer radios like the XG-75 you can run the XGP or XLP firmware (XLP being the newest...). The R06 versions work just fine with RPM 14. You really only need RPM2 for the XL-200p etc. I have XLP R06M03 in all my radios (XG-75, XG-75M/M7300, XG-100P Unity) and program them all with RPM14.
 

carcarjg

Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2020
Messages
37
Location
NY
It gets confusing with ECP / XGP / XLP versions of the firmware. For the 7200 the last ECP version was R16, then it switched to the XGP platform which goes up to R06 (I believe they stopped adding new features around R04... it's just bug fixes beyond that). With newer radios like the XG-75 you can run the XGP or XLP firmware (XLP being the newest...). The R06 versions work just fine with RPM 14. You really only need RPM2 for the XL-200p etc. I have XLP R06M03 in all my radios (XG-75, XG-75M/M7300, XG-100P Unity) and program them all with RPM14.
Ah, Cool
 

snoopyII

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
293
Location
On the other side of the tracks
That's a interesting pic. Forts is correct though, officially, the P7200 is not a supported radio for the XLP series firmware, there is no software part number listed in the SRN. Whether or not you can force it in is another subject, but it appears you have demonstrated that you can. What file did you use? Was it "R06L07_PORT_IQ.cmp"?
 

FL2WAYRF

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2012
Messages
211
I'm only going by what's available on PSPC... Last XGP release for the 7200 was 2016 (R06D13).

Interesting file you have there. The only 'L' series XLP release I saw was R06L01.
I had R06L01 loaded in the 7200 prior.
 

FL2WAYRF

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2012
Messages
211
That's a interesting pic. Forts is correct though, officially, the P7200 is not a supported radio for the XLP series firmware, there is no software part number listed in the SRN. Whether or not you can force it in is another subject, but it appears you have demonstrated that you can. What file did you use? Was it "R06L07_PORT_IQ.cmp"?
Yes it was, no problems whatsoever. The 7200 works great besides a volume pot I need to replace. Feature 47 about to be ordered.
 
Top