• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Racks in the shack

Status
Not open for further replies.

firetaz834

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
318
Location
Metro Area, MI
An idea to consider might be what some radio shops would do or how equipment is mounted in a command post. If your using equipment that is trunk mounted then mount the control head on a shelf and the trunk-mounted unit on the floor.

I'm sure that if you check out the other posts you can find photos of how others have handled mounting that type of equipment. Hope this helps.
 

Dustin

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2
Here are a couple more rack mounted scanners, a Pro 2042 with lighted signal meter made into a Novex rack. Also a MR8100 made into a aircraft panel, found out the hard way it's not exactly a 19" rack but I will figure out someway to mount it.

Dustin
 

Attachments

kd8bao

Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
5
Location
Cleveland, OH


Still working on cleaning up wires but this is it for now. Have 3 feed going now. 2 actual radios and one scanner. Power supply, HP quad core tower, 4 camera video center, 1TB network back up and an APC back up. All equipment sits on shelves.
 
Last edited:

PACNWDude

Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2012
Messages
798
Emergency Comms trailer and ship rack mounted radios.

Here are some radios rack mounted. In one there is an old school Motorola Centracom console and Spectra Consolettes in 19" rack mounts on board a ship. This was about 10 years ago. The other is a trailer for emergency communications work that has a radio rack in it. This one uses Telex gear to remote control the radios.
 

Attachments

forums manager

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 11, 2013
Messages
397
Folks, lets remember this is a family oriented website. Lets keep things more on-topic next time.
 

DisasterGuy

Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2013
Messages
1,226
Location
Maryland Shore
I use a in-house version of these: Radio Specific Power Supplies for racking up control stations at sites. Most were made with blank rack panels, cut two openings using a cut off wheel and then using a console face plate bolted on to hold the radio and give it a tidy look.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top