Radio can't "talk" to the hot spot.

sterryo1

I apologize up front if this question/discussion has already been covered, just point me in the right direction and I'll go there.

That said, let's start with the equipment:
Radio: BTECH DMR-6X2 hand held (latest firmware is installed).
Hot spot (or hat as I have read) is a simplex MMDVM Pi-Star Raspberry Pi Zero 2 Rev 1.0.

I am at a complete loss, I have searched for at least a week trying to find the answer to my issue, but no luck so far. I am an IT professional, so technology is not new or foreign to me, but maybe I am just that dumb.

Code plug "appears" to work and be OK. I have about 26 channels programed and so far have been able to listen to TG 91 World Wide and TG 93 North America. Simply because they are the most active of the TG's I have in my code plug.

The Pi-Star is configured to use DMR with the Brandmeister network. I see the contacts coming through on the dashboard and through the radio. The MMDVM is setup/configured as per the mfgr instructions and some youtube videos. I have tested the BTECH radio using an analog simplex frequency and it TX & RX just fine.

Now for the problem: I have configured a couple of channels to use the Parrot TG, Brandmeister claims to use 310997 for the TG number, others say to use 9990. Either way, it is not working, I do not get anything back, just silence. I have checked, double checked and triple checked everything else on the web to be sure it is configured correctly. I.E. yes it is set to Private Call. Nothing appears in the dashboard to indicate the hot spot has received the signal from the radio. I am less that three feet away from the hot spot and the radio, so it's not a distance issue. The power output is set to low.