• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

radio compatability question

Status
Not open for further replies.

macmann

Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
5
Our department said in order for our radios to work with their system, they have to be
dual band 700/800
p25
smart zone trunking compatable

I just purchased a xts2500 with these parameters. Which mobile units will work with these parameters. I have not been able to find any used radios with these features. Will any other brand of radio work?

I also have the CPS software. Can i use that to clone my handheld into a mobile? Any help is appreciated. I am new to all this.
 

N4DES

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,204
The mobile (XTL) and portable (XTS) series radios have different CPS programs and they do not mix very well. The mobiles are available on ebay, but not as much as the portables, but you can find them.

You might want to go to the Batwing Laboratories site and look around in their for sale area as they pop up there from time to time in their forums section.
 

macmann

Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
5
Thanks for the info. I checked eBay but did not see any dual band units for sale. Are there any older models that will work?
 

macmann

Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
5
since our station uses trunked radios, can I just clone one from the station using CPS software? We have XTS5000 radios mainly. I am new to this. Sorry for all the questions
 

ILMRadioMan

Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
402
Location
The road to no where.
That depends on what the OP means by smartzone trunking.

IF he is talking about Astro25 Smartzone, or a 9600 trunking system, then yes, they could be.

However, if he is talking about anything that is pre-astro25 smartzone (4.1, etc.... any 3600 system), then that is incorrect.
 
Last edited:

jim202

Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2002
Messages
2,669
Location
New Orleans region
I am sure you have seen all the comments about people trying to put radios on trunking systems
without the system managers blessings. If I am interpreting what you have said here, your trying
to use this mobile on a trunking system. If that is that case, you will also need a systems key
in order to input the needed radio parameters to make the radio play correctly.

Putting a radio onto a trunking system is not for the first time radio programmer. It is too easy
to make a mistake and have the radio malfunction. You would be much better off going to the
systems administrator and letting that individual deal with programming the radio. Besides, it
will need to be assigned a user ID for that radio on the trunking system.

Jim




Our department said in order for our radios to work with their system, they have to be
dual band 700/800
p25
smart zone trunking compatable

I just purchased a xts2500 with these parameters. Which mobile units will work with these parameters. I have not been able to find any used radios with these features. Will any other brand of radio work?

I also have the CPS software. Can i use that to clone my handheld into a mobile? Any help is appreciated. I am new to all this.
 

macmann

Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
5
Jim,

Thanks for the info. I did not know you need the security info to program it. I will go to the radio shop and have them take care of it. Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top