Radio Electronics

Status
Not open for further replies.

kynix

I'm a beginner in radio electronics. I have basic experience building circuits with both passive and active components. Audio Products- Kynix Semiconductor Hong Kong Limited.

I was wondering if it was at all possible to build your own transmitter, receiver, etc. (basic radio components) as a good beginner project. For now, I'll start with AM radio.

I've searched the Internet for tutorials, but the links have either made it seem too complicated or they aren't actually simple.

Anyways, if you all could refer me to some beginner material, that would be great.

By the way, if my question is too vague, let me know and I can edit it. I'm new to the whole Stack Exchange too.

ladn

Explorer of the Frequency Spectrum
Premium Subscriber
Southern California and sometimes Owens Valley
Yes, your question is vague. The short answer is, yes it's possible to build "basic" radio components. I'm sure other posters will go into details on this ad infinitum, but the practicality of this depends on what you consider "basic" and what radio service you want to build for.

The "Radio Amateur's Handbook", published by the ARRL (https://www.arrl.org/shop/ARRL-Handbook-2016-Hardcover-Edition/) would be a good place to look for projects. Your local public library should have copies.

SteveC0625

Order of the Golden Dino since 1972
Premium Subscriber
(You didn't specify your location in your post or in your profile. Best to do that so folks here can offer more useful and pertinent information to you.)

Building your own transmitter equipment is pretty much limited to the Amateur Radio Service here in the US. Most any other radio service in the US requires FCC certification of the transmitter which is an expensive process usually accomplished by the manufacturers. Most other countries have similar requirements.