Radio IDs Whistler 1040

Status
Not open for further replies.

BabaDude77

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 11, 2016
Messages
77
Location
Connecticut
Looking to see if there is a way to change Radio IDs from a number to text using ARC500 software on my WS 1040. I was able to change settings to see the Radio ID number or alias now wondering how to change the number to a text tag.
 

RaleighGuy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
7,154
Location
Raleigh, NC
You would need to create a file converting the RID to an Alias (the text tag). The radio does not do that automatically. Not sure how that works in ARC500 or if the WS1040 can do it.
 

Swipesy

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
1,954
Location
Northern Ohio
You have to enter the RID in the WS 1040 as follows - Radio ID Number; Radio ID Alpha Tag (16 Char Max); PVT as Type (Not Grp). They should be placed in the System Talkgroup list where you have your Talkgroups. I do not use ARC500 but I assume it provides for entering as I have listed.
 

BabaDude77

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 11, 2016
Messages
77
Location
Connecticut
If you don’t mind me asking what program do you use to program your scanners, and would you be willing to screen shot what you were explaining before. I am sort of confused as to where to input the data.
 

RaleighGuy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
7,154
Location
Raleigh, NC
If you don’t mind me asking what program do you use to program your scanners, and would you be willing to screen shot what you were explaining before. I am sort of confused as to where to input the data.
I believe what he is saying is where you program the talkgroups, enter the RID number and instead of GRP use PVT and for the Alpha tag enter the name. This is assuming you know who the RID belongs to.
 

BabaDude77

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 11, 2016
Messages
77
Location
Connecticut
Thanks everyone I sure do appreciate it. It all works perfect and lucky for me local Dept just caught a structure fire so now I have IDs for just about every piece of apparatus in town. Also no problems adding them into the scanner with edited alpha tags.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top