Radio receiver with transistors vs "semiconductors"

Status
Not open for further replies.

TeoChristian

Hello!
This is my first post on the forums :). I don't know if it's the good sub-forum to ask and sorry for the low quality post, as I am a beginner (I very recently started to be really interested in radio broadcasting and receiving). In the past, Radio receivers used vacuum tubes, then transistors. I observed that the number of transistors was a way to compare radio receivers in the past. Some better radio receivers used to have 11 transistors for example. On the other hand professional receivers had even 100 transistors. However I saw multiple radio receivers which are saying in the specs: "Number of transistors: semiconductors present". I know transistors are a kind of semiconductors but... what are semiconductors in this case? Are they better than transistors? I can't find anything useful on the web. Thank you very much!

AK9R

Lead Wiki Manager and almost an Awesome Moderator
Super Moderator
Quoting from Wikipedia, "A semiconductor material has an electrical conductivity value falling between that of a conductor, such as metallic copper, and an insulator, such as glass...Its conducting properties may be altered in useful ways by introducing impurities ("doping") into the crystal structure. When two differently doped regions exist in the same crystal, a semiconductor junction is created." These semiconductor junctions can be used to create different types of diodes and transistors. Transistors are a generic type of semiconductor. An integrated circuit might contain millions semiconductor junctions.