Radio shack 2040 confusing me to death

Status
Not open for further replies.

bowman1268

Hi everyone

I am new to scanning but have had this scanner for like a year and can't figure it out.
I downloaded the manual from radio shack that just made things worse.

Ok here is my problem I can seem to get it to scan for signals.I can manually enter a frequency and it will go to it but that is tedious and very hit or miss.When I do as it says to program press manual then enter frequency then it says press MAN or PGM.Well here is where it gets me I have no button that says man and if I press pgm it says error no matter what I enter.If I press manual then enter a frequency then press the up or down arrow it will work but then I have to prees the arrow for every signal step up or down the band.Is there no way to just have the radio scan through all of them with out me pressing the button like a million times.

blangell

Hello bowman1268

You have to press ENTER (bottom right on the keypad) after you enter the frequency, then I believe you can use PGM to advance to the next channel and enter a frequency there.

Pg 20-21of the manual.

bowman1268

Is there any way to make the scanner run through and find stations automatically or do I have to input them all by hand.the manual makes it sound like I can put in a start point then have it run through the band up or down till it hits a active frequency.

ST-Bob

Premium Subscriber
No, scanners don't find and save frequencies automatically for you (in almost all cases). You should familiarize yourself with the Radio Reference frequency database and program the desired frequencies into your scanner. Then it will scan those frequencies.