RadioReference now hosting shack photos!

Status
Not open for further replies.

blantonl

Founder and CEO
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
9,273
Location
San Antonio, TX
That's right.

Head on over to your account:

Your Account

Click the "Shack" tab and upload up to 5 photos of your shack / mobile setup. These will then appear on your user profile.

Enjoy!

PS: other new features are available in your profile as well... poke around :)
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
Neato - are folks still encourage to post shack photos here too? Can we link to the images in the profiles? Looks like you can copy the link from the thumbnail, and link to that in an IMG tag... like so:



Great feature, thanks!
 

blantonl

Founder and CEO
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
9,273
Location
San Antonio, TX
We got this fixed... thanks for the report. It seems that the FCC likes to store multiple entries for callsigns. I'm guessing you let your callsign lapse and then renewed it?
 

blantonl

Founder and CEO
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
9,273
Location
San Antonio, TX
Also, I believe that we'll still use this forum to discuss setups. But, the good thing it that you can now host your shack photos (5 of them anyway) on RR. It also becomes part of your profile.

We will also shortly release an update to your forums profile that shows that your have shack photos if you have uploaded some.
 

NYRHKY94

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 5, 2006
Messages
1,356
Location
Brunswick County, NC
FYI - It appears there may be an issue with the "delete" function after a shack photo has been uploaded. The delete operation does not remove the photo.
 

blantonl

Founder and CEO
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
9,273
Location
San Antonio, TX
Is anyone else unable to delete an uploaded shack photo? I'm unable to reproduce this and I'm able to delete shack photos just fine.
 

NYRHKY94

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 5, 2006
Messages
1,356
Location
Brunswick County, NC
Lindsay:

I just tried it again and this time it worked as expected. Not sure what happened before, but I attempted to delete a shack photo several times and it would not perform the operation. I logged out and back in as well to see if it was a refresh/cache issue but the photo was still there. This time (a minute ago) it deleted just fine!

Thanks - Mike
 

E-Man

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Mar 1, 2004
Messages
840
Location
Global
The Shack Hosting is cool, but making it easy for the whole world to view your personal info seems crazy to me, but hey I am not a Ham and would not understand.
 

blantonl

Founder and CEO
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
9,273
Location
San Antonio, TX
The Shack Hosting is cool, but making it easy for the whole world to view your personal info seems crazy to me, but hey I am not a Ham and would not understand.
Amateur Radio callsign information is publicly available from the FCC for every amateur radio callsign
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top