Radios and general public

Status
Not open for further replies.

KD2DXF

Nobody
Premium Subscriber
Wherever I go, I usually carry a radio with me, usually a GE M-RK with keypad. I walked into walmart last month with it, and I was approached by an employee. He was under the impression it was a 1980s model cellphone, and wanted to buy it. after explaining for a half hour difference between cell phones, radios, CB's, and Amateur Radio, He was curious and wanted to learn more. Brought him to a ham club meeting the following week, and now he's studying to take the test.
For those who carry their radios in public, what do you tell a person who is curious what is on your belt?

KB7MIB

Very few have thought a scanner or Ham radio was a cell phone. I have had one or two ask if it was a satellite phone. Once I say it's a scanner or Ham radio, they say, "Oh, ok", and that's that.

I think I've had more people assume (with disgust) that I was a cop, than think it was an old cell phone, or a satellite phone.

I honestly think I'm too nerdy looking to be mistaken for a cop lol

John
Peoria

KD2DXF

Nobody
Premium Subscriber
Well, your call sign is KB7 "Men in Black" lol
In my area, we have alot of volunteer department members who have radios or pagers, But for the most part people don't notice it, until it talks.

KD2DXF

Nobody
Premium Subscriber
From Wikipedia:
"The DynaTAC's retail price, $3,995 (about $9500 in present-day terms)"

Theres one on ebay going for $1,050. With that, i could Upgrade a P7100 :)

N9NRA

Premium Subscriber
From Wikipedia:
"The DynaTAC's retail price, $3,995 (about $9500 in present-day terms)"

Theres one on ebay going for $1,050. With that, i could Upgrade a P7100 :)