Range and listening

Status
Not open for further replies.

RMull53

OK so I'm fairly new to the radio airwaves. I have little knowledge and have been educating myself. I know the ranges of each device depend upon their antenna the frequencies and the actual device itself. But when I start listening to aircraft and or ATC, can I expect to hear it from home on a BC125at? I'm thinking I can and I only live 10 miles from Philly international. But also will I be able to hear communication with aircraft in the area if not talking to PHL? I'm not sure if there was a more simple way of asking this or if it's got too many variables for a yes no answer.

Delta2_Coms

At 10 miles away, you may have difficulty receiving aircraft on the ground, especially with the rubber duck antenna that comes with the scanner. You might be able to pick up ATC, but you won't know until you try. However, aircraft in the air should be received easily (whether talking to PHL or not).

-All the Best

popnokick

Premium Subscriber
“Yes” is the answer to all your questions. Anything that is transmitted from an airborne aircraft is going to be heard for tens or even more than 100 miles. Picking up PHL ground transmissions will be iffy though.

RMull53

Ok great thanks - and by ground transmissions that's usually cleared to take off and taxi Into position? That sort of stuff?

WB9YBM

Ok great thanks - and by ground transmissions that's usually cleared to take off and taxi Into position? That sort of stuff?

For ground traffic communications, airports will use an antenna with a radiation pattern directed downwards (from the tower to the grounds of the airport)--or so I've been told by a pilot who was also an electrical engineer--so those signals aren't as easy to hear as tower-to-flying airplane where the antenna radiation pattern is directed more towards the horizon.

I've been able to confirm this with at least 2-3 airports here in my listening area.

morfis