R8600 RCA Input on Back of Receiver for Long Wire Antenna?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MTScannerNut

I have an R8600 receiver on the way and would like to get into shortwave listening. I'm a novice when it comes to shortwave antennas and have been doing a lot of reading and research. I would like to try a "random" or Long wire antenna of about 100-125 ft to see how it performs. I noticed the R8600 has an RCA antenna input on the back listed for Long Wire antennas and is 500 ohm. Would this be the antenna connection I want to use? Or would I be better off using the SO-239 connector instead that is listed as 50 ohm? Thanks in advance, Ed.

jazzboypro

Premium Subscriber
I use the RCA connector but it might not be the best option in my case. I have quite a long run of the wire in the house so it's picking up quite a bit of noise.

ridgescan

Either way is good. I personally chose to use the RCA. My 8600 is in the bedroom at my desk. The feed line for the 100' wire antenna on the roof enters through the wall in the living room. I have an Alpha Delta 2 coax switch there and a 30' coax patch line runs from it to the 8600. I soldered an RCA jack to the 8600 end. It receives every bit as well through this setup as my R75 does which is in the living room very near the feed line entrance.

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
If you decide to go this route, do yourself a favor and get the Vibroplex Par EF-SWL antenna (it's widely available). It comes with 45 foot of flex weave for the antenna, but you can substitute it out easily. The connection box has various points where you can change how the balun works with the installation. It will take some experimentation as one setup isn't going to get the same results everywhere.

Just be mindful of where you put the antenna. NEVER run it near power or phone lines and keep it so if it falls, it has no chance of coming in contact with them.

Mike

MTScannerNut

Thanks for all the helpful replies so far.