RCMP tags to local areas ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

davecason

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 14, 2013
Messages
100
Location
Calgary, AB
Hi,

Has anyone got a guide that matches the Tags below to the local geographic areas around Calgary?
It'd be nice to have A, B, and C ..... For example: Calgary is A4

Frequency Tone Alpha Tag Where
155.80500 123.0 PL A1
155.82000 123.0 PL A2 TurnVal , HighRiv , Oak
155.79000 131.8 PL A3
155.79000 123.0 PL A4 Calgary
421.61250 123.0 PL A4
155.58000 123.0 PL A5 Sundre
155.56500 131.8 PL A6
155.52000 131.8 PL A7
155.58000 131.8 PL A8
155.59500 123.0 PL A9
155.62500 123.0 PL A10 Longview
155.64000 123.0 PL A11
156.09000 123.0 PL A12
156.03000 123.0 PL A13
154.71000 123.0 PL A14
154.83000 123.0 PL A15
421.58750 123.0 PL A15 UHF
155.43000 123.0 PL A16
155.52000 123.0 PL B1
155.55000 123.0 PL B2
155.53500 131.8 PL B3
155.56500 123.0 PL B4
155.53500 123.0 PL B5 Olds
155.82000 131.8 PL B6
155.55000 131.8 PL B7
155.80500 131.8 PL B8
155.59500 131.8 PL B9
155.62500 131.8 PL B10
155.64000 131.8 PL B11
156.09000 131.8 PL B12
156.03000 131.8 PL B13
154.71000 131.8 PL B14
154.83000 131.8 PL B15
155.43000 131.8 PL B16
 

robertmac

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
2,213
I don't use Tags or Tones. Just the frequencies. If I am traveling, Like Jay911 stated, I generally look in the Database and make sure I have the frequencies for the areas I will be travelling to/through programmed. I do not get a lot of detachments using the same frequency, so I do not bother with the Tones. Thus I don't have to worry about having the wrong tone for the area. I think this may have been covered in an earlier thread, but look in the Database for the area you are interested in. Then you can plug in the name to the frequency/Tag. I haven't really bothered to do this as I generally have one radio that is set to scan all frequencies.
 

davecason

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 14, 2013
Messages
100
Location
Calgary, AB
this is true !

Hi Guys,

Howz it going? Yep, I know you can go by county and look them up and them match the tag ID to the location. I was just hoping maybe someone already did it ! (grin)

I'm still trying to decide how to store stuff in the radio by freq, location, or made up ID. Decisions Decisions!

If I get ambitious and make a list up I'll post it .......


Cheers'
Dave
 

harryshute

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
1,719
Location
Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA
I think what others are saying is to put all the Alberta RCMP channels in one favorites list or bank. You can leave the location off. It will then tune the proper repeater any place in the province. Or as suggested enter the frequencies without the tones but it doesn't take long to scan A1 to A16 and B1 to B16. Don't forget C3 and Tac 1 to 9.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
So I could ignore the tones I have programmed into my uv5r and scan with the frequency's only and get the same results? Do the tones really only come into play when you have to " use the system"( not scanning but a actual user of whatever system). Note I have not been using the uv5r and was just learning how to program it , my scanning is mostly done with a RTL SDR and a discone.
 

Jay911

.
Feed Provider
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
9,290
Location
Bragg Creek, Alberta
If you're using an antenna like a discone, you're going to get interference some times. For example, Cochrane and Strathmore - on opposite sides of Calgary - use the same frequency, but with differing CTCSS tones. If you take out the tones, you could hear both towns on the same "channel".
 

harryshute

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
1,719
Location
Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA
I personally wouldn't scan without the tones as I find they cut down on interference and they better define which repeater you are hearing. The gain is small because with the tones you are scanning just over 30 frequencies and without just over 15 channels.

I did not like scanning with SDR as I couldn't use the tones but I may not have spent enough time trying it out.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
Yes with SDR I am more or less doing a manual " scan" just by picking out frequencies on a the waterfall or just putting something in. But I can decode digital formats for the time being so its not all bad.
 

robertmac

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
2,213
Just a couple of comments as I am confused. I hear Strathmore and Chestermere on 155.79 which I believe is A4. And not 155.55 as is posted in the Database [I thought it had been posted as 155.79]. I hear them on the A4 link of 421.6125. I also hear Tsuu T'ina on 155.79. I have never heard Chestermere on 155.625 nor 155.55. I always here Turner Valley on 155.625 which is "linked" in with 155.82. I know some have said they have heard Cochrane Town on 155.625 but being in Calgary have not heard this frequency. Have heard Cochrane rural and Town on 155.55, 154.83. I believe Gleichen is also on 155.55 as I have heard them occasionally. And I have heard Strathmore "linked" in by Red Deer Control with Gleichen and vice versa for activities on Highyway 1. I have heard the portables on various frequencies in the 159.xxx range but cannot recall of the top of my head. Until these frequencies get sorted out, is another reason I do not use Tones. I agree if equal distance between same frequency used, tones will help. But I still have this feeling that I am missing something if use the wrong tone or frequency.
 

Jay911

.
Feed Provider
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
9,290
Location
Bragg Creek, Alberta
155.79 t123.0 is indeed A4. It is the repeater which covers Calgary and area, including Chestermere, Tsuu T'ina, and a decent distance beyond that. Strathmore and their satellite detachment in Chestermere use it often. However Strathmore is normally on B7 (155.55 t131.8) in-town.

You hear Turner Valley on 155.625 (t123.0) because that is the Longview repeater which is linked to A2 (155.82 t123.0). A2 is the repeater used in Black Diamond/Turner Valley/High River/Okotoks.

Gleichen being on 155.55 (t131.8) is because that's B7, the Strathmore repeater, and Gleichen is geographically close to Strathmore.

Cochrane is on 155.55 (t123.0), the B2 repeater. Cochrane has B2, B10 (155.625 t131.8), and A15 (154.83 t123.0) linked together 24/7.

The 159.x frequencies you hear are either Base Station Repeaters or Vehicle Repeaters.

The reason you are confused is because you don't use tones.
 

mciupa

Canadian DB Admin
Moderator
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
7,211
Changes have been made to Strathmore and Chestermere. Thank you for pointing this out.
 

mciupa

Canadian DB Admin
Moderator
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
7,211
No duplication of frequencies with the same PL tones as is the case with Strathmore and Chestermere, are permitted in the database.

Please use the Calgary A4 RCMP for programming.
 

robertmac

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
2,213
155.79 t123.0 is indeed A4. It is the repeater which covers Calgary and area, including Chestermere, Tsuu T'ina, and a decent distance beyond that. Strathmore and their satellite detachment in Chestermere use it often. However Strathmore is normally on B7 (155.55 t131.8) in-town.

You hear Turner Valley on 155.625 (t123.0) because that is the Longview repeater which is linked to A2 (155.82 t123.0). A2 is the repeater used in Black Diamond/Turner Valley/High River/Okotoks.

Gleichen being on 155.55 (t131.8) is because that's B7, the Strathmore repeater, and Gleichen is geographically close to Strathmore.

Cochrane is on 155.55 (t123.0), the B2 repeater. Cochrane has B2, B10 (155.625 t131.8), and A15 (154.83 t123.0) linked together 24/7.

The 159.x frequencies you hear are either Base Station Repeaters or Vehicle Repeaters.

The reason you are confused is because you don't use tones.
I know I'm confused but not because I don't use tones. Without tones, I hear transmissions from anywhere. In over 15 years of listening to RCMP, I have never heard a dispatch or anything related to Strathmore town on 155.55. If that frequency is in use in Strathmore, it has to be a relatively low power output, or the yagi is pointed away from Calgary. Even during Strathmore Rodeo Days, the only activity I heard was on 155.79. With 2 outside antennas, the only dispatches and talking I have heard on 155.55 is Cochrane and the occasional Gleichen/Bassano when propagation has pushed the signals westward. I would like to know if anyone else has heard Strathmore town on 155.55. And if so, was it heard in Calgary. Like I stated above, I often hear Strathmore asking control in Red Deer to patch them into Gleichen [and vice versa], even when Strathmore is operating out of their detachment. If Strathmore town and Gleichen are on B7, a patch shouldn't be necessary. However, I will listen more closely over the next little while to hear where the activity on 155.55 is coming from. But then it could be my old decreased grey matter and alzheimer's that is causing the problem.
 

ahp309

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2011
Messages
137
Location
Calgary
B7 & A4 start/end roughly at the Hwy #1/21 Jct. Strathmore Detachment take their calls on A4 unless they are working the East end of their area. Members in the Town of Strathmore will not take calls on B7.
 

beeperboy

Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2008
Messages
280
Location
Calgary
I didn't read the whole thread in detail, but I'm surprised nobody has mentioned the repeater in Strathmore.
 

robertmac

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
2,213
I didn't read the whole thread in detail, but I'm surprised nobody has mentioned the repeater in Strathmore.
About the only frequency not specifically mentioned here, but one that I hear Strathmore on is 159.33. Checking tonight it does use the 131.8 tone. The UHF link 421.6125 was mentioned. Not too much activity tonight as I believe the RTT was not working for awhile. So probably more activity on their work stations. If not these 2 frequencies, any hints?
 
Last edited:

robertmac

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
2,213
Do you mean the A17/B17 pair on 154.680?

159.330 is BSR 4 and not a repeater.
Sorry, it was 159.39 that I was hearing Strathmore on last night and I thought it was a vehicle repeater but it always has the same signal strength in Calgary [at the same time I was listening to 159.33 and did not hear anything in Calgary]. A couple of nights ago, I heard digital on 154.68 but this was not on a digital scanner so cannot say if it was P25, although it sounded like that. I will have to check my records but I believe I have heard clear talking on 154.68 before and was not a repeater. The database indicates this as TAC 3. I also see that there are a number of new postings for BSR. I will have to scan the 159.xxx frequencies to see if I hear anything on the BSR listings.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top