Rebanded frequencies

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley28

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
12
Location
Florida
Recently my area rebanded the 800 public service frequencies (852-853).

I have 2 scanners that were supposed to quit working when this happened a Pro-94 and pro-2052, they continue to work after rebanding, however my pro-96 and uniden BCD396T had to be upgraded so they would work after rebanding.

The issue that all 4 scanners are having on the rebanded frequencies is the channels seem to stay open all the time, in other words adjusting the squelch does not do anything, the channel stays stuck on, all rebanded channels do this, so if you scan it never stops on a rebanded channel on the 396T scanner, you have to push hold and leave it on one channel and manually change if you want to listen to another.

On the 3 radioshack scanners you can push scan and the first rebanded channel it comes to it stops on that channel and wii not squelch out and continue scanning, once again you have to manually go to the next channel. Has anyone else run into this issue? Is there a reason that these frequencies are staying in the open position.

Any assistance would be appreciated.


Thanks,

Rick
 

GTR8000

Well Known Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
7,533
Location
BEE00
Please let us know exactly which system you are listening to so we can take a look at the frequencies in question.

Also, there are reasons older "non-reband capable" scanners might still function perfectly fine post-reband. Without getting too deep into it, many of those 851-854 frequencies already existed in the old Motorola channel plan, and never changed channel #'s. Generally speaking, if the post-reband 851-854 frequencies feature a "5" in the 4th position after the decimal (852.0375), the old scanner will track that frequency. It's the 851-854 frequencies with a "0" in the 4th position after the decimal (852.0250) that you run into trouble with.
 

Harley28

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
12
Location
Florida
Rebanded Frequencies

Here is a list of the channels, some are not included in the RR database: 852.1750, 852.6250, 852.6750, 852.8750, 853.1250, 853.1750, 853.3750, 853.6250, 853.7750 and 853.8850.

The RR database only shows the 853 frequencies, I searched the public service band to find all active frequencies.

As I stated these frequencies seem to stay open and not squelch out.


Thank you for your assistance!


Rick
 

DickH

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
4,061
Here is a list of the channels, some are not included in the RR database: 852.1750, 852.6250, 852.6750, 852.8750, 853.1250, 853.1750, 853.3750, 853.6250, 853.7750 and 853.8850.
The RR database only shows the 853 frequencies, I searched the public service band to find all active frequencies.
As I stated these frequencies seem to stay open and not squelch out.
All those freqs. have a zero in the 4th decimal place and they can not be trunk-tracked by older scanners. If you are hearing anything at all it's because the scanner is not trunking - it's just hearing them as conventional freqs.
Sorry, but your two scanners will never be able to trunk-track that system. Time for a new scanner.
 

GTR8000

Well Known Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
7,533
Location
BEE00
Dick is correct, none of those frequencies would be trackable by any older non-reband capable scanner. It's pretty clear that you have them programmed as conventional frequencies, and you don't have the scanner setup in trunking mode.

You posted some of the frequencies, but not the name of the system you are trying to listen to. I saw a few of those frequencies on the Orange County, FL system, is that the one you're listening to?
 

Harley28

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
12
Location
Florida
Rebanding

I am in Lee County Florida and it is The Sheriff and Police Dept that I have programmed.
If you find out anything on why these frequencies seem to be in open mode please let me know, as I stated before I downloaded the new firmware in the uniden 396T and the pro-96 but the squelth problem is the same on all.


Thanks,

Rick
 

GTR8000

Well Known Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
7,533
Location
BEE00
You need to make sure you're programming the scanner correctly, in trunked mode and not conventional mode. You don't need to program all of those frequencies you found, only the four listed in the database need to be programmed, the Control Channels. Then make sure your scanner is set to "Control Channel Only".
 

Harley28

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
12
Location
Florida
Ok I will look and make sure that I put everything in correctly.


Thank you for your help, I appreciate it!

Rick
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top