Received my BCD436 today and IDPS is clear as a bell in Westfield!

Status
Not open for further replies.

racin06

Member
Joined
May 30, 2004
Messages
668
Location
Westfield, Indiana
I received my Uniden BC436HP today. I had never been able to receive the Indianapolis Department of Public Safety from here at my home in Westfield on my RS Pro-2096 and my previous GRE PSR800 and Uniden 396T scanners...just a bunch of garbled junk. Apparently Uniden has now got it together when it comes to simulcast systems because the IDPS is loud and clear on the 436...no garbled junk! I'm very impressed! I'm currently uploading a video to Vimeo containing 12 continuous minutes scanning the IDPS that I will post later tonight. Uniden has upped their game!

Video Posted: https://vimeo.com/85494169 (better viewed at full screen)

BTW, I'm using the RS 800MHz antenna on the 436.
 
Last edited:

W9NES

Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2004
Messages
1,794
Location
Indianapolis,Indiana
racin06, How does the Uniden 436HP hear MECA sys 2? Will it lock up the control channel 852.1125 for IPL,DPW, ect. Can you advise? Thanks.
 

racin06

Member
Joined
May 30, 2004
Messages
668
Location
Westfield, Indiana
BTW, how many towers and their locations on System 1. I can't seem to find that data on RR. I'm curious how far away I am from each tower. I'm located very near 156th and Springmill Road.
 

racin06

Member
Joined
May 30, 2004
Messages
668
Location
Westfield, Indiana
I brought my 436 along with me to the office today, which is located at 74th and Zionsville Road. The IDPS traffic is very clear and strong. I really believe Uniden has hit a home run on this scanner!
 

milf

Careful, I CAN hear you!
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
13,093
Location
Indianapolis, IN
Must be another License for IDPSC that we don't have listed. I will look and see.
http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?fccCallsign=WQRI449

That one includes the Lawrence repeater as well.

So if anyone wants to make an accurate current IDPSC Repeater (FB2) Map, you will need to combine both those together, and eliminate the input (FX) sites.
 
Last edited:

W9NES

Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2004
Messages
1,794
Location
Indianapolis,Indiana
BAW 352, You are correct but MILF did not post the location for the BUL indicator which is the Butler IDPSC tower. I am located between the NWQ Tower site and the BUL Tower site.
 

W9NES

Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2004
Messages
1,794
Location
Indianapolis,Indiana
The NWQ is a transmitting tower at 7500 Lafayette Road down the street from my parents house near 8200 North Lafayette Road. The BUL Butler site is also a transmitting tower site.
 

milf

Careful, I CAN hear you!
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
13,093
Location
Indianapolis, IN
2 Systems, using all the sites. 2 FCC Licenses that I have found.

There are 6 Repeaters licensed for the first one, and 6 Repeaters listed for the second one. That is 12 Repeaters total that I can find.
There was another license that was an STA (Special Temporary Authority) that has long expired.

There is also an Fixed Control Point Relay site.

Here are the addresses listed on the FCC Licenses:
200 East Washington
7502 C Indian Lake
1220 Waterway Blvd.
1230 W. Morris
8500 E. 21st
2.3 Kilometers NW of 38th & Meridian
135 N. Pennsylvania
47 S. State
6800 E. 86th
7500 Lafayette
8400 S. Mann
5600 S. County Line

Any other sites are listed on Licenses that I have not found yet.
 
Last edited:

GTO_04

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 10, 2004
Messages
1,790
Location
Noblesville, IN
VERY Impressive!

Awesome news! Thanks for posting that video. The reception of IDPS that far away is incredible. None of my scanners (bothe GRE and Uniden) even come close to that!

GTO_04
 

milf

Careful, I CAN hear you!
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
13,093
Location
Indianapolis, IN
I regularly was picking up IDPSC when it was MECA from Arcadia on an PRO-96 with the 800 MHz GRE/RS duckie. Its really not so amazing as flat as this area of IN is. The good thing is, if your a few miles outside the overlapping areas of the simulcast, you have no issues whatsoever with it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top