receiverssss

Status
Not open for further replies.

whiskeytango

been reading about all the different receivers and transcievers, and im finding i have more questions than answers...id like to get into ham and diff shortwave applications...is it better to have one that covers more bands, or get multiple radios depending on what bands i want to hear? will a handheld be a decent start or will i need a 873 ft antenna with a base radio to receive in the sacramento valley....bear with me im still learning....thanks

FLRAILMAN

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Recieversss

Check the Wiki section on HF receiver reviews. In my experience, portables with HF capability just don't cut it, DC to 30 MHz, stick with a tabletop. Just my newbie ranked opinion.

FLRAILMAN

Last edited by a moderator:

iMONITOR

Silent Key
Premium Subscriber
been reading about all the different receivers and transcievers, and im finding i have more questions than answers...id like to get into ham and diff shortwave applications...is it better to have one that covers more bands, or get multiple radios depending on what bands i want to hear? will a handheld be a decent start or will i need a 873 ft antenna with a base radio to receive in the sacramento valley....bear with me im still learning....thanks

Try posting in the amateur radio threads for better response.

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
It's far and away better to get separate receivers for different applications. The reason is performance - as alluded to previously, portables have numerous shortcomings - many in the area of strong signal handling and selectivity - and while they might look attractive, do your homework before plunking down your money.

In the ham world, a good 2m/440 handheld with a decent broad receiver will get your feet wet, and allow you to do some public service work as well. But as I mentioned earlier, putting a good outdoor antenna on a handheld in urban areas can overload the radio.