Recommend entry level equipment for newbie on West Side Indy

Status
Not open for further replies.

chopsdogg

I'm a newbie and looking for an entry level scanner. I almost bought the Radio Shack Pro-95 yesterday, but I'm holding off doing some more research. I really don't think I can afford digital equipment right now. From what I read most of Indy stuff is not digital yet. Are there any other models/brands I should look at besides the Pro-95 for a newbie. I don't want a piece of junk, but it is my first scanner so I don't need the best stuff out there either. Would like to listen to government/municipal stuff as well as civilian if possible. Just a computer geek trying to learn a new technology.

scannerfreak

Database Admin
If you cannot afford a digital scanner, the pro-95 is a great scanner. In fact, I think it's on sale right now for $179.99. You will be able to monitor MECA with the pro-95, however they are making the switch to Digital early next year. Also, without a digital scanner you will not be able to hear the ISP as they use SAFE-T which is digital.

The pro-96 is on sale right now as well for $449.99. That's a very good price.

Might want to also look into a used 800MHz trunk tracker scanner. Search the classifieds here and on Ebay . You might be able to pick one up cheap.

chopsdogg

Are there any Uniden models similar to the RS Pro-95 that anyone would recommend?

schnit