Registering BCD436HP Scanner

Status
Not open for further replies.

number6

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2003
Messages
73
Location
New York, NY
I attempted to register my radio. When it came to the serial number question, I typed it in as it's shown on the BCDX436HP screen--a 5-digit number, a dash, a 9-digit number, another dash, and three more digits. When I looked it up later in the "My scanners" section, the serial number displayed bore little resmeblance to what I entered. There was no checksum, what I entered was truncated, and different digits appeared. What'd I do wrong, and how can it be corrected since there's no way to change that field on the registration screen? Should I just put in a new one and attempt to delete the old one?
 

enosjones

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 22, 2006
Messages
1,130
Location
Price, Utah
Re: BCDx36HP Sentinel Software & Siren App Discussion

It's on the actual scanner not on the screen.. it's not in the programming, that's probably the firmware or esn u entered

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
 

number6

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2003
Messages
73
Location
New York, NY
Use the physical serial number.
Sorry, don't have access to that information. While my vision is 100% non-existent, my wife's isn't good for small print, even *with* magnification, so that's just going to have to wait. I hope getting the iOS app (when it comes out) will not be dependent upon having this info.
 

number6

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2003
Messages
73
Location
New York, NY
It's on the actual scanner not on the screen.. it's not in the programming, that's probably the firmware or esn u entered

Surely. If it's on that metal plate on the rear deck below the antenna and extension speaker jacks, it's going to be a while before I obtain it (see previously posted message for explanation). It's what I like to refer to as an "oh well" situation.
 

detroit780

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
574
Location
Michigan
Serial Number

Tell your wife it's on a white tag under the bar code. Tell her to swivel the belt clip 90 degrees and she should be able to see it. It's the only white tag on the back.




Sorry, don't have access to that information. While my vision is 100% non-existent, my wife's isn't good for small print, even *with* magnification, so that's just going to have to wait. I hope getting the iOS app (when it comes out) will not be dependent upon having this info.
 

UPMan

In Memoriam
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,296
Location
Arlington, TX
It will be the same as the last part of the ESN (starting with "380..." and not including the SUM).
 

yaesumofo

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2003
Messages
314
Location
los Angeles
Sorry, don't have access to that information. While my vision is 100% non-existent, my wife's isn't good for small print, even *with* magnification, so that's just going to have to wait. I hope getting the iOS app (when it comes out) will not be dependent upon having this info.
You might want to try to take a picture of the rear of your radio. Then use your computer to blow the image up so the numbers are fully readable.

An alternative is to take a picture and ask on this forum if anybody would be willing to look at the picture and read the serial number. is it possible on the purchase invoice?
im sure there would be plenty willing people.

Good luck.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top