• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Remote control

Status
Not open for further replies.

TDHG4U61

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 19, 2003
Messages
136
Location
Denver, Colorado
A friend of mine noticed a switchman had some type of a large vest-mount device to control a locomotive (although there was an engineer in the cab) during a switching move at warehouse where I work, perhaps a remote control. Is this true or has anyone seen this?
 

KG4ZPD

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
109
Location
San Bernardino, CA
Yes. I have seen this used. In fact I have a friend that works for CSX and have witnessed this first hand. Its quite impressive actually. Reason for the human in the cab is to take control in case the remote fails. Also, there are short line railroads that used "wired" remotes. Plug-n-Play...lol. Engineer takes the remote and plugs it in to an outlet on either side of the engine.
 

KG4ZPD

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
109
Location
San Bernardino, CA
Its more or less used on short line rr's and the class 1's when they operate the local runs. My friend has used the wireless remote when it was just him (rarely) so instead of stopping the train, getting out, walking to disconnect then go back to the headend, he used the remote to pull foward to disconnect or back up to connect. Even when there was mutil track sidings and drop off's he could stand outside, operate the train and switches at the same time. But keep in mind him being by hisself was rare. I'm still doing reasearsh on the whole thing myself. Hope this helps out a little.
 

Scan-Denver

Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2004
Messages
1,526
Location
Denver, CO - USA
This remote setup is used often in the downtown area (Denver) for switching tracks and cars. There are signs posted indicating locomotive is operated by remote control.
 

TDHG4U61

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 19, 2003
Messages
136
Location
Denver, Colorado
Thanks, that helps a lot. Well, I just thought it would be easy for a human to be in the cab and work the main sonsole, cool, thanks for the info.. Amos
 

wbigcount

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 15, 2003
Messages
747
Location
Kansas City
Thats not an engineer in the cab, its another trainman, at least here on the UP the rco operator thats ridding in the cab is there to make the pull out move where they dont have positive stop protection. Even though he might be sitting in the cab, he still uses his box to countrol the loco. If the remote fails the computer stopes the loco on its own, most of the time both guys are on the ground except where they do not have much room or there is a main or somthing like that to worry about.
 

RRgumshoe

Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2006
Messages
27
LOL This reminds me when I first started off in the railroad.......

I was over on CSX's property one evening and I see one of their locomotives go by and I look up and I see no one in the cab! Being a rookie in the rail and as an officer I didn't know what to think. Then I look over and read the big sign that said Warning about remote controled trains.

I felt like a big dope, thinking we had a runaway train. Thank god I never called that in on the radio, that one would have never been lived down.
 

wbigcount

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 15, 2003
Messages
747
Location
Kansas City
Lmao, me too. Does make you wonder somtimes. I got my RCO licence back in 04 for some reason they thought i needed it, even though i spend my time on the road.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top