BCD436HP: Renaming Favorites Lists

Status
Not open for further replies.

bearcat

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2002
Messages
542
I could not find a solution to this in a search of previous threads. I wanted to rename a Favorites List. Which seemed to work fine in Sentinel. When I wrote the file back to the radio I still have a FL with the old name and a new one with the new name that does not have the proper FL quick key number.

This does not seem to be the way renaming a FL should work.

Any ideas?
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
6,352
Location
Dallas, TX
I could not find a solution to this in a search of previous threads. I wanted to rename a Favorites List. Which seemed to work fine in Sentinel. When I wrote the file back to the radio I still have a FL with the old name and a new one with the new name that does not have the proper FL quick key number.

This does not seem to be the way renaming a FL should work.

Any ideas?
When you wrote back to the scanner, since the old list was there, it simply added the renamed list as well. Next time, if re-naming a list, select "erase Favorites lists on the scanner" during the write process.
 

rwier

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 6, 2006
Messages
1,912
Location
Phoenix, AZ
I could not find a solution to this in a search of previous threads. I wanted to rename a Favorites List. Which seemed to work fine in Sentinel. When I wrote the file back to the radio I still have a FL with the old name and a new one with the new name that does not have the proper FL quick key number.

This does not seem to be the way renaming a FL should work.

Any ideas?
I just experimented with a work-around and it works! While in your open FL:

File>Export to hpe file... (I put it on my desktop for easy access).

Create a new FL and give it your new name (It will be empty of data).

File>Import from hpe file...
Schazam!!! Same data, new name!

Delete the old named FL.
 

bearcat

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2002
Messages
542
When you wrote back to the scanner, since the old list was there, it simply added the renamed list as well. Next time, if re-naming a list, select "erase Favorites lists on the scanner" during the write process.
Thanks. You are correct. I would think it should work differently but it is what it is
 

bearcat

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2002
Messages
542
I just experimented with a work-around and it works! While in your open FL:

File>Export to hpe file... (I put it on my desktop for easy access).

Create a new FL and give it your new name (It will be empty of data).

File>Import from hpe file...
Schazam!!! Same data, new name!

Delete the old named FL.
I will have to give that a try Thanks
 

rwier

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 6, 2006
Messages
1,912
Location
Phoenix, AZ
I will have to give that a try Thanks
I just learned (new user of the 436) that you can rename a FL using the radio.

Assume radio on and scanning
MENU
Scroll
(the scroll knob is also the volume/squelch knob) down to select Manage Favorites
Press Down
on the scroll knob
Scroll down to select the FL you want to rename.
Press Down on the scroll knob
Scroll down to select Rename
Press Down on the scroll knob

Numbers 4 and 6 move the cursor Left and Right
.no
clears an entry
To clear ALL characters, press .no twice
Move the cursor Left or Right using 4 and 6
Scroll to the desired character (ABC.., abc.., 0123..., [/}\..., etc,)
Move the cursor Left or Right
using 4 and 6
Scroll to the desired character (ABC.., abc.., 0123..., [/}\..., etc,)
Move the cursor Left or Right
using 4 and 6
Scroll to the desired character (ABC.., abc.., 0123..., [/}\..., etc,)
Repeat
until you are happy with the new name
Press E/yes when finished to SAVE and exit
Press Menu three times to Resume Scanning


I'm not sure this is easier than the Export/Import .hpe File method.


 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top