Repeater Question (schools)

Status
Not open for further replies.

twexzer

Premium Subscriber
Hi all-

I am new to scanning and amateur radio in general and I had a couple questions regarding repeaters.

I have browsed the FCC records, and determined the frequencies my school uses.

I programmed them all into my scanner, and the only one I have heard anything on is: 463.9125
I have determined that this is the repeater output.

I am looking for the repeater input frequency. The other frequencies my school uses (based on FCC records) are:

152.9375 (probably not repeater input because it is VHF, others are UHF)

How can I determine which one is repeater input? Also, is there some way to find out what PL they use?
I can provide a link to the FCC records if needed.....

Thanks so much!

Big_Ears

Regarding the 460 mHz band, the input frequency is usually +5 mHz. If the repeater out freq is 463.7625 then the input should be 468.7625 mHz. Even with the re-banding issues, I believe it still holds true.

twexzer

Premium Subscriber
Regarding the 460 mHz band, the input frequency is usually +5 mHz. If the repeater out freq is 463.7625 then the input should be 468.7625 mHz. Even with the re-banding issues, I believe it still holds true.

Is there anyway I could test that with my HAM? I would need to know the PL, correct?

kc4jgc

Would they need to be lisenced for the input frequency though?

Yes.

Is there anyway I could test that with my HAM? I would need to know the PL, correct?

+ 5MHz is the standard. Unless you're wanting to add PL for interference mitigation, no need to worry about PL. Are you trying to transmit with your amateur HT on a local government freq? Not advisable.

DickH

Re-banding is only the 800MHz freqs. NARROW-banding affects VHF & UHF freqs.

SCPD

QRT
Ham license = Ham frequencies,a ham license does not give you privileges on any non-ham band,I do not know for the life of me why ham operators think they are allowed to transmit everywhere...

SurgePGH