• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Repeater Question.

Status
Not open for further replies.

dixie729

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Messages
422
Location
Daviess Co., KY
When entering the repeater frequency how should it be entered in the CPS? 155.04000 is the main channel. 158.92500 is the repeater.

Should the repeater be entered in both the RX and TX or just one or the other?

ex....
RX - TX
158.92500 - 155.04000

or

RX - TX
CH1 158.92500 - 158.92500

CH2 155.04000 - 155.04000
 

WX9EMS

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
155
Location
Lake Geneva, WI
If I am reading your post right, RX is 155.0400 and TX is 158.9250, enter them in their respective columns. If you entered it like 155.040-155.040, that would give you simplex operation.

If all else fails, read the Help file! And if that fails, let someone else do it! I am not exactly sure what these frequencies are, public service I imagine, but an improperly programmed radio can cause a lot of havoc; BE CAREFUL!!!
 

zz0468

QRT
Banned
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
6,036
What WX9EMS said.

You need to know what the TX and RX frequencies of the repeater are, and particularly, which is which. You then enter the repeater TX frequency as the mobile RX frequency and vise versa.

Both frequencies would get entered into a single mode.
 

dixie729

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Messages
422
Location
Daviess Co., KY
I think I got it.... Im going to try and upload a picture of my current CPS configuration of the the way Im understanding the input.
 

RKG

Member
Joined
May 23, 2005
Messages
1,094
Location
Boston, MA
You will do better in a repeater context if you use the terms "Output" and "Input." Together, these are the pair of frequencies used in a repeated system. Output is the frequency on which the repeater transmits (and the subscribers listen) and Input is the frequency on which the repeater listens (and the subscribers transmit).
 

dixie729

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Messages
422
Location
Daviess Co., KY
Awsome, thanks for your "input", RKG. That sums it up very well. I thought that I had it entered right in the CPS, just figured I'd get an opinion on the matter before I used it at work and it was wrong.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top